Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Recommended wingspan ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2003, 12:40 PM
wannabebuilder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommended wingspan ?

Hey,

Soon i will be starting to be a SAAB DRAKEN and a cessna 195.

I am new to the hobby but have built other models such as trainers etc.

I just wondered what would be a good size wingspan.

For the draken i plan to give it a 33" wingspan and the cessna 195 i plan to give a 40" wingspan. These were given to me in a rc planes chat room. However i want to double check they will be ok.

Thanks

Chris
Old 07-15-2003, 01:58 PM
Jim_McIntyre

Sounds reasonable. Are you building these from a kit? Plans?

Just my opinion but bigger flies better, especially with scale aircraft. No it's not a macho thing but, with the sizes you mentioned you may have a little difficulty flying from grass, especially when wet or not cut recently. Also, you'll probably have some difficulty with flying these in winds exceeding 15mph.

Do you have an engine in mind for this project? If cost is an issue, there have been some decent weedeater conversions that are quite reasonable. This also saves you money on fuel (gasoline is a lot cheaper than glow).

OTOH, smaller aircraft are much more convenient. I prefer to fly my larger aircraft but, if I only have a couple hours free, it''s the smaller aircraft that make it to the field.... it has to suit your lifestyle.

Just some thoughts, hope this helps.
Old 07-15-2003, 06:51 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

You forgot to mention the engine size. Normally the wingarea is linked to the engine size and the span works out to whatever based on the aspect ratio.