RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/)
-   -   Scratch building models for museums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/11593444-scratch-building-models-museums.html)

Harper57 01-19-2014 11:53 AM

Scratch building models for museums

I am an exhibit designer and may have a project coming up that will require building aircraft models around 1/24 scale. One could be a interwar biplane trainer. This plane resembles a typical WWI structure with a boxy fuselage and (I believe) fabric covered surfaces.

My question concerns durability. This project will be in a public space that strictly speaking is not a museum. The models will be suspended from the ceiling. While there is not a huge number of kids or other mischief makers passing through, there is no direct supervision and I am concerned about vandalism. So I am requesting input on materials.

My profile indicates I'm a beginner, I do have model making experience. I just haven't done anything for RC. So I can converse reasonably intelligently in regards to methods and materials. I am concerned that a typical tissue or silkspan over balsa type construction will be too fragile. Could I substitute basswood for balsa for the internal framework and use another material for the fabric? Maybe styrene?

Scale might be anywhere from 1/24 to 1/12. Your input would be appreciated.

Chad Veich 01-20-2014 08:57 AM