RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/)
-   -   new to scratch building... (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/4777842-new-scratch-building.html)

cochinito77 09-21-2006 10:19 PM

new to scratch building...

hi guys im new to the scratch built scene, ive been messing with arf's and a kit here and there, but never scratch built.
how do i go about getting started scratch building? i mean i know i need a "plan" and some wood and glue ;) but how exactly do i get the plan, then im assuming i trace the parts on some of the wood, and how do i know what size (thickness) of the wood?
any help for this newbee would be great..
Raf-

Jim_Purcha 09-21-2006 10:29 PM

RE: new to scratch building...

What size thickness of wood? If you built enough kits and studied some plans from the magazines, you would have a general idea of sizes of wood required to build a model. I would think so anyway.

ORIGINAL: cochinito77

hi guys im new to the scratch built scene, ive been messing with arf's and a kit here and there, but never scratch built.
how do i go about getting started scratch building? i mean i know i need a "plan" and some wood and glue ;) but how exactly do i get the plan, then im assuming i trace the parts on some of the wood, and how do i know what size (thickness) of the wood?
Raf-

KidEpoxy 09-21-2006 11:30 PM

Try looking at some of the free plans out there on the internet, or here in the forums.
Most of the good ones will have text labels next to the piece telling what wood it is. Check the plans at www.ulmer-rc.com and you will see there is text labels telling what the wood is, and handy tips. Sure it is a small plane, but it shows what a good plan is like.

cochinito77 09-21-2006 11:37 PM