RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/)
-   -   DH4 Biplane Build advice from enlarged DUMAS plans (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/5426496-dh4-biplane-build-advice-enlarged-dumas-plans.html)

tenacious101010 02-16-2007 07:08 AM

DH4 Biplane Build advice from enlarged DUMAS plans

I want to build a DH-4 Biplane. I purchased a Dumas DH-4 kit and enlarged the plans by 200%. It will have a 70 inch wingspan.
I realize I will have to change several things, the engine mount, fuel tank area, wing attach, landing gear strength, etc. What is a good way to make shock absorbing landing gear? I was wondering what range engine size might be appropriate for this size and type plane. I realize built weight will have an impact, but I have no experience with biplanes. I am not sure if I would use a 2 stroke or 4.
Any inputs as far as wing incidence, or anything I should take into consideration would be greatly appreciated. One area of concern is attaching the wing struts between the wings, what are good ways to make this connection since they need to be removeable?
Thanks, Denny

kdc 02-16-2007 06:56 PM

RE: DH4 Biplane Build advice from enlarged DUMAS plans

There is a plan for an 84 inch DH4 which uses a 80 or 90 four stroke. Weight was 12 pounds.
Plan is by Gary Sunderland who used a Laser 90. Was published in England by Aviation Modeller July 1997. ( I think the designer is from Australia )

I have this mag and I provided this info to another enquiry on rcuniverse some weeks back.

kdc 02-16-2007 07:42 PM

I looked back and found that it was your enquiry previously.

Frankly if you have never built a scale biplane before you should build from someone elses plans (of similar size ) to get all the detail construction.