RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/)
-   -   Finding chord line of wing (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/6961521-finding-chord-line-wing.html)

c-jack 01-24-2008 10:19 AM

Finding chord line of wing

Hi, everyone

I am presently building a Balsa USA Citabria Pro and am stopped by setting the wing incidence. I am not an aeronotical engineer and BALSA USA say to find the chord of the wing to set the incidence of the wing relative to the fuselage. WOW! They don't show this on the plan, but tell you that, to use the trailing edge of the wing for the rear of the chord. Fine, but what about the leading edge? This wing is semi symetrical and I have no clue on how to find the point for the front position of the chord.
Anybody with a degree in airplane engineering out there? I need help!!!!!
I also don't want to email BALSA USA as I did it for some other item on the plan and I got some dumb answer, like how come I didn't know that!!! What a way to treat customers.

Thanks to anyone replying to this! It will be greatly appreciated.

:)[>:][:-]

Mike Connor 01-24-2008 11:09 AM

RE: Finding chord line of wing

I would think it would be the most forward point of the leading edge.

funkworks 01-24-2008 11:13 AM

1 Attachment(s)