Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Kadet Senior on floats ?

Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 07:33 PM
  #1
Warby
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Radcliffe, IA
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Kadet Senior on floats ?

Thinking of building a Sig Kadet Senior to put on floats.
I have a set of 38.5" fiberglass Great Planes floats.
Float specs tell they will work with 5 to 9 lb. planes and the kadet comes in at 6 lbs.
My question is if they are long enough for a 60" plane???
Thanks in advance for all replies!
Warby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 07:35 PM
  #2
evan-RCU
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

Should be fine, better to be a bit short than too long and it keeps the plane from rotatig to take off. Light planes like longish, narrowish floats but they may be hard to find.
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 10:33 AM
  #3
bikerbc
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SorrentoBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 2,018
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

They should be fine..Put your step under the Cof G and you will be okay...Measure from the back of your prop to your rudder post and multiply buy .75 and see what you get...That should be the ideal length of your float...As long as its close ,with in a few inches you will be okay..The Senior is big for its weight , you will probably need to either modify a set or live what you have...I was just thinking , could you epoxy a foam block on the back to extend them a little bit , and the do the same thing on the step but just 1/2 the distance you extend the float ??...Its nice if the floats can protrude past the prop about 2 inches but not critical...The step is important... The idea of having the float extend past the prop is to keep the plane from noseing over when you apply the throttle...There are other ways to keep this from happening..You apply full up elevator untill the plane comes up on the step and you apply the throttle slowly..When the plane is on the step you relese the up elevator and let your speed build untill the plane is ready to fly...
bikerbc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:08 AM
  #4
JimCasey
 
JimCasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

Seniors are not real sensitive to float dimensions since they will take off in about 4 feet anyway.  As you pointed out, the plane is so light you can use smaller floats. 
Practice landing gently without skipping.  You will be amazed how good your wheeled landings get. 
Probably the greatest floatplane ever!

JimCasey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:33 AM
  #5
bikerbc
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SorrentoBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 2,018
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

You have Jim on here , His advice is golden .. He knows more about floats than the lake its self .. Check out his site .. it is a wealth of information.. Address is in his signature....
bikerbc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:20 AM
  #6
JimCasey
 
JimCasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

Biker's praise is far too lavish, but I DO have experience with Seniors.
Lots of seniors in the gallery of my website. This one is mine. Kluged up to look "Cub"-like. picture here: www.wattflyer.com/forums/attachment.php
PlaneFun foam-core Floats, Flaps, Ailerons, Flat bolt-on wing, Heads-Up RC .60 size electric with 4200 4Sbattery pack and 100A speed control.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu59902.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	204.0 KB
ID:	1863335  
JimCasey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:42 AM
  #7
Warby
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Radcliffe, IA
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

Thanks guys.
Another question.
Should I build it with right firewall thrust.
Will that help in a straighter take off on floats?
Warby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 03:19 PM
  #8
JimCasey
 
JimCasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

I built mine with the factory engine alignment and it flies without sensitivity to throttle.  A clubmember I fly with built his zero-zero, and his flies well, too. 
I can't justify zero-zero for a high-wing, slow plane. 
JimCasey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 05:09 PM
  #9
Warby
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Radcliffe, IA
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior on floats ?

I have one on wheels that I use for candy drops etc.
I built it with factory engine alignment.
Was just thinking with a Saito 91 and the increased drag
of the floats, that it might be a good idea to put in a little side thrust.
Warby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:35 AM.