Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Ideas for connecting water rudder

Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 06:26 AM
  #1
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,001
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ideas for connecting water rudder

I am just about done hooking up my first float plane. It's a SIG 1/6 cub, and I'm not sure the best way to go about rigging up the rudder. The floats are already fiberglassed, so mounting a servo in the float is not really an option for me. I actually had a servo mounted in the rear of the float, but some one talked me out of it, so I closed it up before fiberglass sing. I know I can run a snake type linkage from inside the plane off of the rudder servo, but not sure how, especially with a pull pull set up. If anyone can maybe post a pic or two of a similar setup, I would really appreciate it. The servo on the left in the pic is the rudder.thanks a lot, Steve.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94736.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	264.5 KB
ID:	1902323   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uo34955.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	273.8 KB
ID:	1902324  
stevegauth30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 01:58 PM
  #2
Boomerang1
 
Boomerang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,837
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Ideas for connecting water rudder

What I have done in the past is to make a bracket to attach in place of the tailwheel bracket which
holds a Sullivan nyrod.

This faces forward then loops back towards the rear of the float to operate the rudder.

You will probably have to cable tie it to the float leg to stop it flapping. - John.
Boomerang1 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 05:14 PM
  #3
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,001
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Ideas for connecting water rudder

Thanks boomerang. I tried a cable and sleeve from the rudder servo, looped forward, and back with a bunch of zip ties, even put two landing gear straps in between, and it didn't work. It would pull, but no push. Not even back to neutral.back to the drawing board. I'm going to try running it straight back, and down through the corner of an existing access panel, and down. Hopefully, without the big loop and half the distance might work. If not, I'll really have to start thinking, but it shouldn't be this hard. Tanks for the idea. Steve.
stevegauth30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:09 AM
  #4
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,001
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Ideas for connecting water rudder

Ok, now I'm ready to pull my hair out. I've tried a few different ways, with no luck. I first tried coming off of the servo inside the cockpit, looping forward, and back. No luck. So I tried coming off of the horn on the rudder, forward and back, no luck. So then I tried the same way, except I put a bellcrank half way and went over to a music wire pushrod, still nothing. I even left the bellcrank and went back inside to the servo and nothing. I'm ready to throw in the towel and put the wheel back on. What the heck am I doing wrong?should I just bite the bullet and tear into the float to mount a servo?whats the best way to do it and keep water out?please help.
stevegauth30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:33 AM
  #5
flyinwalenda
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,767
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Ideas for connecting water rudder

If you don't want to open the floats you could try this. Install a servo upside down in the bottom of the fuse midway or where you can gain access. Construct a box, recess it a little so it's not as noticible if you want. Run your nyrod in a more straight line with less angle through the float rigging from the servo horn to the rudder. Connect that servo to the main rudder servo with a "Y" connector.
flyinwalenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:50 AM
  #6
JimCasey
 
JimCasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Ideas for connecting water rudder

How about a scale-like setup. Cheap, easy, weightless.
Come off the rudder horns (2 required- as in pull-pull), with stranded fishing line.
Go forward to the rear float strut,
Go down to the top of the float,
Back to the water-rudder.

Pulleys are not required. I use 2-56 eyebolts.


this is a full-size cub at Jack Brown's seaplane base. You will find that the cable has to be crossed once for the water rudder to move in the same direction as the air rudder.

JimCasey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 05:37 AM
  #7
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,001
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Ideas for connecting water rudder

Thanks guys for all of the good ideas. I ended up just cutting the float open. I didn't really want to, but I was getting frustrated. I'll find a way to keep it water tight, and go with it. If for whatever reason that doesn't work, then ill try Jim's scale set up. At least that would look right, not that it's a scale cub, cus it's not. Thanks again for the ideas. Steve.
stevegauth30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:43 PM.