Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Installing waterproff servo on the float

Reply
Old 01-15-2004, 09:43 AM
  #1
Isaac F
Thread Starter
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Installing waterproff servo on the float

Hello Guys. Is there is a way to install a waterproff servo on one of the float.

I want to do this because if not every time I have to remove the floats in order to fly it on land I have to cut and uninstall the steel wires that goes to the steering on one of the floats.

What I want to do is install the servo in the float and use a servo extension routed to the inside of the airplane. So when I take out the floats i just unplug the servo.

What you think about this idea.[:-]

Do anybody have pictures or a web were I can take some ideas and tips?

THX,

Isaac
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 07:25 PM
  #2
polstery
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: west hartford, CT
Posts: 353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

You don't need a waterproof servo, just a standard servo with aeroplate by aerotrend and the servo will work underwater. I use it on all my boat servos.
polstery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 07:38 PM
  #3
Isaac F
Thread Starter
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

Quote:
ORIGINAL: polstery
You don't need a waterproof servo, just a standard servo with aeroplate by aerotrend and the servo will work underwater. I use it on all my boat servos.
Is there is a web that have some tips on how to install the servo on the float, so no water get inside the float. I will use ARF plastic floats from Modelfly/Falcon Trading Co. Is the Cessna 177 Cardinal ARF (the ones that is all plastic)

Isaac
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 07:54 PM
  #4
Isaac F
Thread Starter
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

This is my idea. I can make a rectagular hole on the float for put a mini servo, fill the inside Plastic Float with liquid foam. The one that is liquid but it dry fast and create a brown foam used for packing.

This way there is no way water can get inside the float. What youi thinK?

Do you thing that float will be heavier for the foam???

Isaac
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:15 PM
  #5
JimCasey
 
JimCasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

I just use fishing swivel-snaps on my water-rudder linkage. It's not necessary to cut the wires, just unhook them. I don't even use wires, just fishing line(Spiderwire), and 2-56 eyebolts for guides. Use 2-56 eyebolts and clevises at the ends to provide a nice loop for tying the fishing line.

If you mount the servo in a snug-fitting waterproof box or cavity in a foam plug, it will only take about 2 drops to fill the box all the way to the waterline. If the servo can leak, it will. I had my receiver in a snug cavity in an all-foam seaplane once. It took about a teaspoon of water in the fuselage to drown the receiver.

If you want to put the servo outside (ecch) why not just servo-tape it to the top of the float?
JimCasey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:20 AM
  #6
4*60
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

I'm with Jim. I use swivel fishing snap hooks. They're tiny and but strong and will take abuse. They unsnap and the rudder hookup is off in seconds.
4*60 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:42 AM.