Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6

  1. #1
    Isaac F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
    Posts
    387
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Installing waterproff servo on the float

    Hello Guys. Is there is a way to install a waterproff servo on one of the float.

    I want to do this because if not every time I have to remove the floats in order to fly it on land I have to cut and uninstall the steel wires that goes to the steering on one of the floats.

    What I want to do is install the servo in the float and use a servo extension routed to the inside of the airplane. So when I take out the floats i just unplug the servo.

    What you think about this idea.[:-]

    Do anybody have pictures or a web were I can take some ideas and tips?

    THX,

    Isaac
    The speed of light is greater than the speed of sound. That΄s why some people seem very bright until you hear them speak.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    west hartford, CT
    Posts
    353
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

    You don't need a waterproof servo, just a standard servo with aeroplate by aerotrend and the servo will work underwater. I use it on all my boat servos.

  3. #3
    Isaac F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
    Posts
    387
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

    ORIGINAL: polstery
    You don't need a waterproof servo, just a standard servo with aeroplate by aerotrend and the servo will work underwater. I use it on all my boat servos.
    Is there is a web that have some tips on how to install the servo on the float, so no water get inside the float. I will use ARF plastic floats from Modelfly/Falcon Trading Co. Is the Cessna 177 Cardinal ARF (the ones that is all plastic)

    Isaac
    The speed of light is greater than the speed of sound. That΄s why some people seem very bright until you hear them speak.

  4. #4
    Isaac F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
    Posts
    387
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

    This is my idea. I can make a rectagular hole on the float for put a mini servo, fill the inside Plastic Float with liquid foam. The one that is liquid but it dry fast and create a brown foam used for packing.

    This way there is no way water can get inside the float. What youi thinK?

    Do you thing that float will be heavier for the foam???

    Isaac
    The speed of light is greater than the speed of sound. That΄s why some people seem very bright until you hear them speak.

  5. #5
    JimCasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Lutz, FL
    Posts
    1,949
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

    I just use fishing swivel-snaps on my water-rudder linkage. It's not necessary to cut the wires, just unhook them. I don't even use wires, just fishing line(Spiderwire), and 2-56 eyebolts for guides. Use 2-56 eyebolts and clevises at the ends to provide a nice loop for tying the fishing line.

    If you mount the servo in a snug-fitting waterproof box or cavity in a foam plug, it will only take about 2 drops to fill the box all the way to the waterline. If the servo can leak, it will. I had my receiver in a snug cavity in an all-foam seaplane once. It took about a teaspoon of water in the fuselage to drown the receiver.

    If you want to put the servo outside (ecch) why not just servo-tape it to the top of the float?
    Jim Casey/Seaplane Nerd
    http://www.smilesandwags.com/Floats.html

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Shuswap, BC,
    Posts
    1,724
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing waterproff servo on the float

    I'm with Jim. I use swivel fishing snap hooks. They're tiny and but strong and will take abuse. They unsnap and the rudder hookup is off in seconds.
    \"Of course, that\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'s just my opinion. I could be wrong.\" the other Dennis Miller


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.