Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Sea Bird....wish I'd read this forum sooner

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Sea Bird....wish I'd read this forum sooner

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2004, 01:46 AM
sky_dancer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sea Bird....wish I'd read this forum sooner

Hi all,
A few months ago when it was still warm out I decided that I needed to get some floats for my Superstar so I could fly off of beautiful Lake Sinclair which I live on. I'm still fairly new to flying and just moving up to my "second" plane from my trainer. I figured flying off the lake would be a good way to get in some stick time when I couldn't get out to the field. The first thing I tried was ordering some GP .40 size floats. I still have them sitting in the box untouched. No problem to build them but it seemed a daunting task to figure out how to position them on the plane properly. Besides, I decided I wanted a "boat" plane anyway so, being on a budget, I ordered a Lanier Sea Bird. First of all, it sure didn't seem like much of an ARF. I tired of fooling with it and put it aside half built until today. I was just starting to think about working on it again and then I logged in on the seaplane forum for the first time. Now after reading what most everyone has to say about the Sea Bird, I don't think I even want to waste my time trying to finish it up. It's supposed to be a .40 sized plane and from what I can gather it would take a .60 to get it airborne, if then. I'm seriously thinking of ordering a Mariner .40 now. From what I'm reading, it appears to be a nice plane. I'm open to any advice or suggestions I can get though. I just wish I'd read this forum months ago!
Regards,
Michael
Old 01-17-2004, 05:38 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Sea Bird....wish I'd read this forum sooner