Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Northstar follow up : ARROW by Laddie Mikulasko !

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Northstar follow up : ARROW by Laddie Mikulasko !

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2006, 08:11 PM
Mustang Fever
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: northstar help

Roger that, Stryk. I still have my plans and a lot of wood.
Old 08-13-2006, 11:29 PM
gl2657

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm glad to see that there is still interest in this plane. I have been flying mine for 6 months now and have pretty much sorted it out.

In Summary.

C of G is absolutly critical, mine is now 1/4inch forward of that indicated on the plan. (Most Forward point). I resolved the pitching by mixing throttle and elevator, took me a bit of time to get it right, the more I moved the C of G forward the the less it was pitching. Take of is the most difficult part, Apply gentle throttle and keep it level with ailerons, let her build up plenty of speed (I only use about 1/2 throttle) and gently ease it into the air.

Keep working at it there a blast to fly.
Old 08-15-2006, 08:27 AM
Strykaas

Many of you guys have skipped the apex, as pictured on Laddie's a/c :

Any good reason for this (apart from ease of build) ?
Old 08-15-2006, 03:16 PM
John Hawkins

ORIGINAL: Strykaas

Many of you guys have skipped the apex, as pictured on Laddie's a/c :

Any good reason for this (apart from ease of build) ?
It would be interesting to know if they have any effect on flight. Anybody got wind tunnel results? I used them the first time but am wondering whether to do so in the second edition. Seems like they might have a streamlining affect. I have heard them called strakes.
Old 08-15-2006, 10:47 PM
K.O.
My Feedback: (16)