Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Float Help

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Float Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2004, 10:36 AM
74cj5

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Float Help

I need a little advice. I have been flying for about 6 years now. Last year I converted my high wing trainer to floats. My local hobby shop put them on and the job was done very well. The floats are plastic, hollow and have a small drain hole pin size in the top middle. The would get water in them after one flight. The water was extremely hard to get out of this small hole. I enlarged the hole pluged it and put duct tape over it. After 3-4 tanks through it I pull the plugs and drain any water. This has worked fairly well but if the plugs don't seal perfectly then the plane takes on water and is teribly out of balance. The plane in the water tends to pull to the left when power is applied. This makes for hair raising takeoffs. The water rudder is a single unit on the left float. It is held in the water by a rubber band. I would much rather land than take off. This is totally backwards from how I feel flying off grass. Here is my question. Do you think I sould buy different floats? If so what would you recomend for a 40 size airplane. Can I keep the floats that I have and fill them with liquid foam? Is the water rudder possibly causing me all my problems on take off? Would you recomend annother rudder or a retractable rudder? I have tryed it without the rudder without much luck controling the model at low rpm's. I am new to the forum and appreciate any help you can give.

Thank you
Matt
Old 03-26-2004, 11:56 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Float Help

The liquid foam idea is good, but it will add weight. Try this first: