Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Flaperons or not?

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Flaperons or not?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2004, 06:04 PM
eskimo
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flaperons or not?

I have acquired a Goldberg Anniversary 40 size Cub with floats, and was wondering if it would be beneficial to have flaperons or just stick to a regular wing as it is built. Thanks for the comments?
Old 06-04-2004, 06:42 PM
Ed_Moorman

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Flaperons or not?

I am not that experienced with float planes, but I did try my Sea Fazer with flaperons. It leaped off the water and pitched up. It was not a good take off. It is a .46 powered fun fly plane so it has more than enough power and this may have contributed to the pitch problem. All the rest of the sea planes I have flown have been normal configuration and have had no problem.

I would think your Cub will have plenty of lift to get airborne so rather than complicate the plane, I would fly it as is.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29554.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	139532  
Old 06-04-2004, 09:42 PM
JimCasey

Not.
Old 06-05-2004, 07:58 PM
twinman
My Feedback: (2)

While it is not exactly a seaplane, I owned a Senior Telemaster. Due to very light wing loading, I would not land. I mixed in flaperons and DID NOT LIKE THEM AT ALL!!!!!!
You lose too much aileron control. Remember how we are supposed to have differential ailerons. More up than down. Do flaperons and you get full down on one aileron, and slight up, if any on the other as you try to control the plane. Not good. If you need flaps, my vote is make flaps and put on separate channel. I eventually cut the aileron and created flaps and was glad I did.
My two cents.
Twinman
Old 06-06-2004, 07:21 AM
raptorchris