Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Float setup??

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Float setup??

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2005, 11:16 PM
sky shark
My Feedback: (20)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Float setup??

I'm new to float planes. I would like some opinions on this set up before I go any further. Does the CG (laser line) look correct in relation to the float step? Does the incidence look correct? I don't have a incidence meter, at this point it is all guess work for me. Is it necessary to use a incidence meter? Any help with this will be greatly apprieciated.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh15876.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	244138   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql33177.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	85.5 KB
ID:	244139   Click image for larger version

Name:	Di10041.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	244140  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:18 AM
Wine Country Flyer
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: Float setup??

Hey Sky Shark--I'm no expert, but it looks right on to me. Step at or slightly behind the CG, length of floats about 75 to 80% length of fusalge, tips about 2 in. beyond the prop arc, and trac, or distance apart 18 to 25% of wing span. Those look like "Sea Commander" floats, are they. I have a set of 42 in, Sea Commanders on my Four Star 60. Just love 'em. Not cheep and a little heavy, but they sure work great, and they are pretty strong. Tested 'em out on an oak tree !! (ouch) Totaled the plane, but the floats made it through without tooooooo much damage. Made repairs and put 'em on a new "Four Star" 60. And we're back on the water. Also heard good things about Falcon Trading Co. floats here on RC Universe. So, I just put a pair of them on an Avistar. And they work just great, too.