Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

4* 60 on floats

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

4* 60 on floats

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2005, 07:52 AM
JC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4* 60 on floats

Gents,

I have been flying RC for about 5 yrs. (land based) and I would like to try flying off the water. The plane I want to use is my faithful 4* 60, powered buy a tower 75. The floats I have been looking at are the Sig Smooth Floats that are made for the Rascal. Tower sells them for $99.00. They are 41" long and will take up to a 10.5 lb plane but they are made for a 40 size plane. These floats look like they should work on the 4* 60 or is there something I am missing? Will these floats work on my 7.5 lb. 4* 60?

JC
Old 06-03-2005, 10:48 AM
jrf
My Feedback: (551)

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: 4* 60 on floats

Yes, they definately will. The most important consideration for float size is the weight of the airplane. Second is the length of the floats. Engine size has nothing to do with it.

At 41 inches long and over 2 pounds, those are big floats. They will float your 4 * like a cork.

The only obvious deviation from good float design that I see there is the water rudders. Water rudders are used only for taxiing. They should not be in the water on the take-off run. It looks like those will be. You are going to have to avoid any rudder input during take-off, or the airplane will swerve. (Or leave the water rudders off and learn to steer on the water with the air rudder. The 4 * does that well.)

Jim

Old 06-03-2005, 06:10 PM
JimCasey
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post