Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Hangar 9 cub 80" on Hangar 9 floats

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Hangar 9 cub 80" on Hangar 9 floats

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2008, 02:46 PM
grizwald

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hangar 9 cub 80" on Hangar 9 floats

What do you guys think of this combination with a saito 82 under the cowl.
I have read good things about this plane but very few have put hangar 9 floats
on it why? I would think since they were made for this plane they would be perfect.
Also I am new to float flying and would like your comments on this setup, how stable
for a new to floats guy. It was and still is a toss-up between this 1/5 cub or the hangar 9
1/4 scale cub with the gas engine and floats.Your comment on these planes would
greatly be appreciated Lou.
Old 02-05-2008, 05:05 PM
Falcon6667

Default RE: Hangar 9 cub 80" on Hangar 9 floats

Do you have the 82? Iwould put the new g-20 on the 1/5,,,an might even put it on the 1/4...If i picked it would be the 1/4 scale with a g-26. My 1/4 scale sig on floats was great!
Falcon
Old 02-05-2008, 09:07 PM
Wayne22
My Feedback: (2)

The hanger 9 floats are new, probably very few people have them at this point - and it ain't exactly float flying weather in many areas..

The 80" cub has been around a long time, and it is a fantastic flying plane. A 70 size 4 stroke is ideal..enough power to handle floats and some aerobatics if you are inclined. You should be okay with the 82 (A G-20 is way to heavy - got one of those too..). I had 3 different engines on my 80" cub - a saito 56, an OS 70, and a Saito 91. The OS 70 was the best. The 91 had too much torque, was too heavy, and too thirsty.. The cub did not fly very well with it up front, so the 70 went back in......

Have fun with it!!

[img] http://www.fubarhill.com/images/2cubs.JPG [/img]
Old 02-06-2008, 06:46 AM