Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Float Plane Setup

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Float Plane Setup

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2003, 10:26 PM
RC Maniac 2000

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Float Plane Setup

Hello,
I am new to RC float flying, but I am not new to RC. I have a Hobbico Superstar 40 select with Explorer Floats. I was wondering how to set up the plane so the water rudder steers too. It is attached to the left sponson. Also, do i have to change the throws or anything like that? PLEASE tell me if I need to change my plane at all. Will it have enough power to get off the water?? Thanks a lot- Mitchell

__________________________________________________ _

-I Race RC cars,yet, I can spell right, hmmm...... curious.
Old 06-16-2003, 11:33 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Your airplane will work fine

There are any number of ways to rig the water rudder but one of the most popular and simpler ways is to attach a rudder horn on the opposite side of the other one run a flex cable or nyrod a bit forward and loop back to the rear and down just in front of one of the sterns (it makes no differance which float has the rudder). Asimple cable clamp to somewhere along the side of the fuse and one on the float ahead of the rudder tiller. Simple, easy and most important quick to change over to Landing gear but effective.