Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Flying off water

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Flying off water

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2009, 08:35 AM
tacx
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flying off water

Hi All,

I have a question about flying off water. I am a newbie and have been flying my Apprentice with an Instructor. I have a cottage on a lake in upper Michigan and would love to have a plane that I could fly off the water, when I get more experience under my belt. First of all is flying off water harder, easier, or the same as normal flying. Also I would like to know which plane for a newbie would be a good one for this?

Thanks
Old 05-31-2009, 08:38 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Flying off water

Flying from water is not for newbies. It's not much different from regular flying, except that the floats have added a lot more weight and drag to the plane - Better are planes like the Seamaster or Neptune which is a flying hull. These types of planes fly much more like a "regular" plane.

However, takeoffs and landings are a lot more difficult, and a minor mistake can lead to a very wet airplane, engine and radio.

It is also a MUST that you have a boat. Even if you don't crash, it's very common that water spray can cause an engine failure and you need to go out and retreive the plane.

Old 05-31-2009, 09:10 AM
Chip_Mull
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This is why we waterproof the radio compartment.  Taleoffs and landings on water cause less damage to the airframe than runways.  It may flip or catch a float but seldom does it scratch or tear the covering.  If takeoffs and landings are a challenge then yes it is difficult but if you have a cottage on the lake, by all means get yourself a float plane and have some fun. 

It's just a hobby, enjoy it.