Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Please help me do the unthinkable ...

Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Please help me do the unthinkable ...

Old 11-27-2009, 06:31 PM
ClearedForTheApproach

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Please help me do the unthinkable ...

I intend to violate one of the core principles of R/C aircraft flying, and I'm hoping you can help me succeed.

Ihave zero R/C flying time; however, Iwant to learn to fly without using an instructor. And, to complicate matters, I've modified my Alpha Trainer to add floats and intend to take off from a 1-acre pond on our property. So my first-ever R/C takeoff will be from water ditto for the hoped-for landing. On a modified trainer. Now, to degrade things further, I am also a rated pilot in full scale aircraft. (I'm told this is a handicap?) Single-engine, multi-engine, commercial, instrument, and seaplane ratings. The only other factors are overhead power lines (which are mostly out of the way) and lots of trees, although a reasonable sized clear area is adjacent to the pond.

Here is my question, and Iask you to please help:

Given all of your knowledge of flying R/C aircraft, what would you recommend that I do to increase the chances that Isuccessfullymanage the climb-out, maneuvers, and return for landing? Iknow it is recommended to have an instructor please overlook that and give me your best advice on how to do it without one.

Thank you.
Old 11-27-2009, 07:08 PM
Avaiojet

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Please help me do the unthinkable ...

Nameless,

I'm a pilot too, five ratings, two of them commercial, one being a commercial seaplane rating. I also have 400 hours in a Lake LA4-200T, which I owned.