Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

72 MHz or 2.4

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

72 MHz or 2.4

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2014, 10:45 AM
L8cruiser

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 72 MHz or 2.4

I am just getting into the hobby. I picked up two planes at a yard sale for 10 bucks. The planes are both trainers and have engines, receiver and servos already mounted. I know 10 bucks, what a great find. Ok my question is what kind of transmitter should I buy. The receivers are both 72 MHz. Should I switch them out with 2.4 receivers or leave them and buy a 72mhz transmitter. Also will the servos fit all makes of receivers. I am overwhelmed by all the technology and varieties of radios. Thanks for any input.
Old 04-18-2014, 11:21 AM
opjose

Who makes the receivers?

If you can find a transmitter with the same frequency the receivers use and the SAME "SHIFT" pattern, you may be able to use them.

That said, the hobby has moved onto 2.4 some time ago, and you are buying into older technology, not that it doesn't work fine.

2.4gHz offers no need of watching a frequency board for a free channel. But you are tied to the manufacturer you start out with.
If you do delve into 2.4 you are best off choosing a name brand transmitter, and one that will probably cost far more than you ever expected to pay.

It makes no sense to go out and buy a cheap 2.4gHz transmitter only to replace it a few months later due to incompatibility with what you really want.

I would advise you to not worry about those two planes. Find a local club, check out a meeting, go and visit the field and see if they offer training.

If they do, sign up and go through it. You'll find help with your purchased planes in the process.
Old 04-18-2014, 11:54 AM
L8cruiser