Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

need help with my volcano epx

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2014, 02:38 PM
skygreen67

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help with my volcano epx

Ok im very new to this and just bought a volcano epx and was wondering if this setup should br any good...

First thing i did was buy a Hobbyking X-Car Brushless Power System 4000KV/60A
Second thing was buy a steel spur gear with 64 teeth
Third was buy boca bearings but only changed the bearings for the wheels
Then i bought a ZIPPY Compact 5000mAh 3s 40c Lipo Pack
I also bought a motor heatsink with a 6v fan just in case...

What else should i be doing or am i doing something wrong?
Old 11-23-2014, 02:55 PM
CptKlink

Is that X-Car 60 Amp ESC able to run on a 3s Li-Po with that 4000KV motor? I would check myself but the hobby king site isen't working for me.
Old 11-23-2014, 04:21 PM
skygreen67

I believe it said it would when i bought it but now that u bring that up im not sure anymore... ill look at the specs shortly and post again... ive ran it very little so far as my lipo charger hasn't arrived yet
Old 11-23-2014, 05:54 PM
skygreen67

Yeah it says 5-9 cell nimh or 2-3 cell lipo
Old 11-23-2014, 06:43 PM
zackS30

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What he means is like on my hobbywing sc8 it can handle 4s lipo but only with a motor 2000kv or less. On 3s it can handle 3000kv or less on 2s it can do a 4000kv motor.
All escs r like that. U need to get the full spec sheet for it b4 u hook all that up with a 3s lipo. It might not be able to handle it.
Old 11-23-2014, 07:45 PM
CptKlink