Community
Search
Notices
SimJet Turbine Direct Support Direct support for SimJet Turbines provided here.

Simjet 3000 problem on XL

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2011, 09:05 AM
Vinceyboy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Simjet 3000 problem on XL

Sir, I have an XL, which has a Simjet 3000 turbine in it. I bought the model a couple of years ago it was all up and running on 35mh Futaba radio. I decided to strip the model out and do a reinstall with new radio gear, changing to JR 2.4 and use a Powerbox Evo.
I finally got the model finished last autumn, and have been waiting for the right day to get up the field and set it up and do all the tests before final flight testing.

Well the day arrived yesterday, once at the field the XL was put together and a friend who is using JR, fine tuned the model to the JR DSX 9 tranny, as I am new to JR radio after all my years on Futaba 35mg, so I had only roughly set her up. Once set up we ran through the transmitter to the Fadec ECU learning mode, (twice) this done we tried to start the turbine but the Temp. reading on the gameboy was going up, so we took a look at the inputs on the ECU.

Now the trouble with these Fadec units is, is that there is a diagram on the Fadec showing the sequence of where to plug the sensors and valves in but does not show which is top or bottom, so effectively you could plug these in upside down (which it seems I did)

After resorting the sensor/valve inputs we tried to start again, but this time after the stick was moved forward then back, instead of the starter kicking in, the RPM on the gameboy started increasing without the starter engaging, which then said “Bad Startâ€

Would this indicate that there is an ECU problem? Which could have been damaged by plugging the valves into the sensor inputs, and visa versa?

Hope that’s clear enough to understand?

Thanks in advance, Vince.