Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1
    Philip Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    62
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Hi there,

    I have a second hand simjet 2300 that has developed a start problem.

    The engine always starts first time when its cold, but after one flight if you try to re-start when the engine changes from gas to fuel, the temp goes to 999c, no fuel goes in and the start up fails.

    Let the engine cool for a while and it will start fine.

    Does this sound like a fuel issue? Pump? Solenoid? Is there anyway to test this with the GSU? People at my club suggest that the temp going to 999c means there is no fuel going in, and its just running on the gas?

    Or you think start up setup?

    I assume you are suppose to be able to re-start these turbines straight away and fly repeatedly?

    Thanks in advance.

    Phil

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Undheim, NORWAY
    Posts
    34
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Hi!

    To me it seems like a pump issue. I had something like your case on a PST 600, and the problem was made by the gear from the pump. The pump was worn out, and as soon I got a new one the problem was over. You can also adjust the amount of gas so you are not getting so high temp reading to see if the pump starts. You can choke the canistervalve to do so.
    \" In thrust I belive \"

  3. #3
    Philip Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    62
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Hi there,

    Thanks for your reply. If it was the pump why do you think that the engine being hot or cold would affect it?

    I had a PM:

    Hi Phil

    What type of ECU do you have, it sounds like a temp prope problem

    Best
    Kim

    Former simjet worker

    However I have PMd Kim a few times with no reply. Does anyone here know how to test the temp probe? And or change it?

    My ecu has AU 303 FADEC in large on it....

  4. #4
    Philip Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    62
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Hi Kim,

    Are you still about? Does anyone else know how to test/change the temp probe on these? Anyone know of a place that can service these engines?

    Thanks

    Phil

  5. #5
    Edgar Perez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
    Posts
    1,939
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Since you are using Gaspar ECU, you can buy new thermocouple at his store (Xicoy)

    I guess you can test it by confirming it measuring ambient temp correctly. Then use a flame to raise the temp and confirm it via the ECU display.
    good luck,
    Edgar Perez
    Puerto Rico

  6. #6
    K Jorgensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ebeltoft, DENMARK
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Hi Phil

    Yes still around, I have totally over looked your reply, sorry for that.

    I think that your temperature probe has an internal fault, that shows up when heated once. The best is to just get a new one from Xicoy as Edgar suggest.
    Hope it will help.
    My motto.... Fly now!!! Work later..... and when will that happen.....

  7. #7
    Philip Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    62
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Hi guys,

    Thanks for the replies.

    Is it hard to change the probe? Does the front of the engine have to come off?

    Are there instructions anywhere? The probe works fine, apart from when on gas at start up. Ambeint seems correct, and when engine is running its showing consistently around 600-700c.

    Thanks

    Phil

  8. #8
    Philip Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    62
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    The engine has 40 hours on it now, do you know what the service interval is on these? Thanks

  9. #9
    Edgar Perez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
    Posts
    1,939
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue


    ORIGINAL: Philip Cooper

    *The engine has 40 hours on it now, do you know what the service interval is on these? Thanks
    Many manufacturers have used about 25 hours.
    Edgar Perez
    Puerto Rico

  10. #10
    Philip Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    62
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

    Hi there guys,

    He has 3 thermocouples listed there, do you know which one I should order?

    Thanks

    Phil

  11. #11
    Edgar Perez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
    Posts
    1,939
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue


    ORIGINAL: Philip Cooper

    *Hi there guys,

    He has 3 thermocouples listed there, do you know which one I should order?

    Thanks

    Phil
    I think its Thermocouple 150mm N/T:"K" type thermocouple. Inconel 600 sheated. 500mm cable lenght with JR type connector. Probe lenght 150mm (KJ) engines.

    you should be ab le to measure the length of the one you have to confirm its about 150mm.
    Edgar Perez
    Puerto Rico


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.