SimJet Turbine Direct Support Direct support for SimJet Turbines provided here.

Simjet 2300 start up issue

Reply
Old 09-03-2012, 12:24 PM
  #1
Philip Cooper
Thread Starter
 
Philip Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Simjet 2300 start up issue

Hi there,

I have a second hand simjet 2300 that has developed a start problem.

The engine always starts first time when its cold, but after one flight if you try to re-start when the engine changes from gas to fuel, the temp goes to 999c, no fuel goes in and the start up fails.

Let the engine cool for a while and it will start fine.

Does this sound like a fuel issue? Pump? Solenoid? Is there anyway to test this with the GSU? People at my club suggest that the temp going to 999c means there is no fuel going in, and its just running on the gas?

Or you think start up setup?

I assume you are suppose to be able to re-start these turbines straight away and fly repeatedly?

Thanks in advance.

Phil
Philip Cooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 04:38 AM
  #2
Uefly
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Undheim, NORWAY
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

Hi!

To me it seems like a pump issue. I had something like your case on a PST 600, and the problem was made by the gear from the pump. The pump was worn out, and as soon I got a new one the problem was over. You can also adjust the amount of gas so you are not getting so high temp reading to see if the pump starts. You can choke the canistervalve to do so.
Uefly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 12:40 PM
  #3
Philip Cooper
Thread Starter
 
Philip Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

Hi there,

Thanks for your reply. If it was the pump why do you think that the engine being hot or cold would affect it?

I had a PM:

Hi Phil

What type of ECU do you have, it sounds like a temp prope problem

Best
Kim

Former simjet worker

However I have PMd Kim a few times with no reply. Does anyone here know how to test the temp probe? And or change it?

My ecu has AU 303 FADEC in large on it....
Philip Cooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:14 PM
  #4
Philip Cooper
Thread Starter
 
Philip Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

Hi Kim,

Are you still about? Does anyone else know how to test/change the temp probe on these? Anyone know of a place that can service these engines?

Thanks

Phil
Philip Cooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 05:03 PM
  #5
Edgar Perez
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

Since you are using Gaspar ECU, you can buy new thermocouple at his store ([link=http://www.xicoy.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=22_25&osCsid=8gt9it1go2c8b6fhfposggknl7]Xicoy[/link])

I guess you can test it by confirming it measuring ambient temp correctly. Then use a flame to raise the temp and confirm it via the ECU display.
good luck,
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:39 AM
  #6
K Jorgensen
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

Hi Phil

Yes still around, I have totally over looked your reply, sorry for that.

I think that your temperature probe has an internal fault, that shows up when heated once. The best is to just get a new one from Xicoy as Edgar suggest.
Hope it will help.
K Jorgensen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:22 PM
  #7
Philip Cooper
Thread Starter
 
Philip Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

Hi guys,

Thanks for the replies.

Is it hard to change the probe? Does the front of the engine have to come off?

Are there instructions anywhere? The probe works fine, apart from when on gas at start up. Ambeint seems correct, and when engine is running its showing consistently around 600-700c.

Thanks

Phil
Philip Cooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:26 PM
  #8
Philip Cooper
Thread Starter
 
Philip Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

The engine has 40 hours on it now, do you know what the service interval is on these? Thanks
Philip Cooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 03:25 AM
  #9
Edgar Perez
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Philip Cooper

The engine has 40 hours on it now, do you know what the service interval is on these? Thanks
Many manufacturers have used about 25 hours.
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:09 PM
  #10
Philip Cooper
Thread Starter
 
Philip Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: HoddesdonHerts, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue

Hi there guys,

He has 3 thermocouples listed there, do you know which one I should order?

Thanks

Phil
Philip Cooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:24 PM
  #11
Edgar Perez
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Simjet 2300 start up issue


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Philip Cooper

Hi there guys,

He has 3 thermocouples listed there, do you know which one I should order?

Thanks

Phil
I think its [link=http://www.xicoy.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=22_25&products_id=97&osCsid=8gt9it1go2c8b6fhfposggknl7]Thermocouple 150mm N/T[/link]:"K" type thermocouple. Inconel 600 sheated. 500mm cable lenght with JR type connector. Probe lenght 150mm (KJ) engines.

you should be ab le to measure the length of the one you have to confirm its about 150mm.
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:20 PM.