Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 14 of 14

  1. #1
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    1650 problems

    Hi Guys.

    I was helping a buddy try to get a 1650 started, and it was a "No-go."

    This is a very old system, with a 3 way festo valve, that is used to turn the fuel from a by-pass, to the engine.


    Anyway... the ECU seems to work... but we couldn't get the red light to come on. After checking over everything... and making sure nothing in the ECU or RPM pick-up was shorted... we got one cycle to the red light... and the pump turned on. But... unfortunately... after we got it all mounted up for a test run... it was back to nothing.

    Anyway... if anyone knows the old ECU's... and has an idea of something to check, or HOW to check the pick up... I'd like to know. Also... where is the RPM magnet in this engine? We think that this was an air start engine... and someone added a starter pod. (We manually put power to it to spin the engine) But... if the magnet was supposed to be in the front nut... and it was changed for the starter... I'm thinking that the magnet is gone.

    Any insight on this would be great.

    The engine is in GREAT shape... so if we can figure it out... I think we are going to try to convert it to a V10 from Gaspar.
    Tony

  2. #2
    K Jorgensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ebeltoft, DENMARK
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Hi Tony
    I would not spend much time on the old ECU, but go for the Gaspar right away. The magnets are drilled in to the back of the compressor for what I know.


    Best

    Kim
    My motto.... Fly now!!! Work later..... and when will that happen.....

  3. #3
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Thanks for the info.

    We were hoping to get it running on the original ECU... but it's so convoluted, that I agree that we should just switch over to a Xicoy.
    Tony

  4. #4
    K Jorgensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ebeltoft, DENMARK
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Let me know, if there is anything I can do to help

    Kim
    My motto.... Fly now!!! Work later..... and when will that happen.....

  5. #5
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Thanks,

    I'm going to call him today, and tell him to order a Xicoy. If you know the settings for that ECU... that would be very helpful.
    Tony

  6. #6
    K Jorgensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ebeltoft, DENMARK
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    I will see what I can come up with. Give me a day ore two.
    My motto.... Fly now!!! Work later..... and when will that happen.....

  7. #7
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Thanks !!


    No rush. I'm sure it will take a week or so to get the new ECU, and the other parts together.
    Tony

  8. #8
    K Jorgensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ebeltoft, DENMARK
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Hi Tony

    Last weekend I finished the repair and rebuild of a friend SimJet 3000. I did not have a data cable to connect the ecu to a pc. So I could not download the full software. But I saved the parameters that I had access to with the data terminal.

    Start menu:
    Pump Start Point AUTO +3
    Pump Start Ramp 006
    Glowplug Power 045 (using 2 cell lipo)
    Gas Start Adjust 100%
    Low Batt Volts 6,2V

    Run menu:
    Full Power Speed 110000 – 120000rpm (depends on what you had the engine running)
    Idle Speed 32000rpm
    Stop Speed 20000rpm
    Start/min temp 100Β°C
    Max Temperature 800Β°C
    Acceleration delay 025
    Deceleration delay 015
    Stability delay 050
    Pump Limit 1000

    Hope you can use it

    Some picture of the repair / rebuild

    Best

    Kim
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Db85103.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	269.2 KB 
ID:	1821139   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vq51842.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	296.6 KB 
ID:	1821140   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sx63184.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	176.3 KB 
ID:	1821141   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wq43196.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	341.2 KB 
ID:	1821142   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lw19293.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	268.0 KB 
ID:	1821143  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qg63511.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	200.4 KB 
ID:	1821144   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ik90235.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	306.7 KB 
ID:	1821145   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ts63652.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	279.6 KB 
ID:	1821146   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ed61526.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	254.4 KB 
ID:	1821147   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ht87985.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	228.1 KB 
ID:	1821148  

    My motto.... Fly now!!! Work later..... and when will that happen.....

  9. #9
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Thanks for the info !!

    Looks like you have a full shop there. Do you make the new combustion chamber, or do you buy the sheets somewhere? When you weld it... what filler rod do you use?

    I'll have to give my buddy a call today to see if he got his parts yet.
    Tony

  10. #10
    K Jorgensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ebeltoft, DENMARK
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    I make the parts myself; I had to build this combustion chamber in stainless steel as I did not have access to Inconel sheets.
    I don’t use any filler rod when I do the weld, with the right kind of welding jig you can but weld the .5mm sheet together.

    Best

    Kim
    My motto.... Fly now!!! Work later..... and when will that happen.....

  11. #11
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    I have a TIG... so I understand. Good fitting parts don't always need filler rod.

    I talked with my buddy, and he ordered the new ECU from Gaspar on Thursday... so he should have it this coming week. I'll post up with the outcome.
    Tony

  12. #12
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    My Buddy finally got the ECU. We are going to try to fire it up tomorrow.
    Tony

  13. #13
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,092
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Well... we got a good running engine !!! But, we did have a few issues that we smoothed out. The biggest problem was that I wanted to try to start the pump slower... and I guess as I set the ramp down to Auto+0... it went one step more... and looped around to 255. Needless to say... we had a HUGE fireball. But, we got it shut down, and hit with the extigesher in time that there was no damage.


    It was lightly snowing, and right at freezing... but we made a few adjustments. So, for anyone looking at this... Here are the final settings we used. (this is a new V10 ECU from Gaspar)



    Start menu:
    Pump Start Point AUTO +3
    Pump Start Ramp 007
    Glowplug Power 1.7v (using 2 cell lipo)
    Gas Start Adjust 100%
    Low Batt Volts 6,5V

    Run menu:
    Full Power Speed 110000rpm
    Idle Speed 32000rpm
    Stop Speed 20000rpm
    Start/min temp 100Β°C
    Max Temperature 750Β°C
    Acceleration delay 024
    Deceleration delay 018
    Stability delay 065
    Pump Limit 1000
    Tony

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    mia, FL
    Posts
    2,297
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: 1650 problems

    Just saw this threat, I have a used 1650 ECU I don't need.
    It's a hobby - keep it simple

    www.332ndredtail.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.