SimJet Turbine Direct Support Direct support for SimJet Turbines provided here.

1650 problems

Reply
Old 11-04-2012, 05:48 PM
  #1
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 1650 problems

Hi Guys.

I was helping a buddy try to get a 1650 started, and it was a "No-go."

This is a very old system, with a 3 way festo valve, that is used to turn the fuel from a by-pass, to the engine.


Anyway... the ECU seems to work... but we couldn't get the red light to come on. After checking over everything... and making sure nothing in the ECU or RPM pick-up was shorted... we got one cycle to the red light... and the pump turned on. But... unfortunately... after we got it all mounted up for a test run... it was back to nothing.

Anyway... if anyone knows the old ECU's... and has an idea of something to check, or HOW to check the pick up... I'd like to know. Also... where is the RPM magnet in this engine? We think that this was an air start engine... and someone added a starter pod. (We manually put power to it to spin the engine) But... if the magnet was supposed to be in the front nut... and it was changed for the starter... I'm thinking that the magnet is gone.

Any insight on this would be great.

The engine is in GREAT shape... so if we can figure it out... I think we are going to try to convert it to a V10 from Gaspar.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:59 AM
  #2
K Jorgensen
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Hi Tony
I would not spend much time on the old ECU, but go for the Gaspar right away. The magnets are drilled in to the back of the compressor for what I know.


Best

Kim
K Jorgensen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:05 AM
  #3
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Thanks for the info.

We were hoping to get it running on the original ECU... but it's so convoluted, that I agree that we should just switch over to a Xicoy.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:17 AM
  #4
K Jorgensen
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Let me know, if there is anything I can do to help

Kim
K Jorgensen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:23 AM
  #5
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Thanks,

I'm going to call him today, and tell him to order a Xicoy. If you know the settings for that ECU... that would be very helpful.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:02 AM
  #6
K Jorgensen
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

I will see what I can come up with. Give me a day ore two.
K Jorgensen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:33 AM
  #7
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Thanks !!


No rush. I'm sure it will take a week or so to get the new ECU, and the other parts together.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:07 AM
  #8
K Jorgensen
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Hi Tony

Last weekend I finished the repair and rebuild of a friend SimJet 3000. I did not have a data cable to connect the ecu to a pc. So I could not download the full software. But I saved the parameters that I had access to with the data terminal.

Start menu:
Pump Start Point AUTO +3
Pump Start Ramp 006
Glowplug Power 045 (using 2 cell lipo)
Gas Start Adjust 100%
Low Batt Volts 6,2V

Run menu:
Full Power Speed 110000 – 120000rpm (depends on what you had the engine running)
Idle Speed 32000rpm
Stop Speed 20000rpm
Start/min temp 100°C
Max Temperature 800°C
Acceleration delay 025
Deceleration delay 015
Stability delay 050
Pump Limit 1000

Hope you can use it

Some picture of the repair / rebuild

Best

Kim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Db85103.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	269.2 KB
ID:	1821139   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq51842.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	296.6 KB
ID:	1821140   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sx63184.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	176.3 KB
ID:	1821141   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wq43196.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	341.2 KB
ID:	1821142   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lw19293.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	268.0 KB
ID:	1821143   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qg63511.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	200.4 KB
ID:	1821144   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ik90235.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	306.7 KB
ID:	1821145   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ts63652.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	279.6 KB
ID:	1821146  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ed61526.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	254.4 KB
ID:	1821147   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ht87985.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	228.1 KB
ID:	1821148  
K Jorgensen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:49 AM
  #9
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Thanks for the info !!

Looks like you have a full shop there. Do you make the new combustion chamber, or do you buy the sheets somewhere? When you weld it... what filler rod do you use?

I'll have to give my buddy a call today to see if he got his parts yet.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:08 AM
  #10
K Jorgensen
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

I make the parts myself; I had to build this combustion chamber in stainless steel as I did not have access to Inconel sheets.
I don’t use any filler rod when I do the weld, with the right kind of welding jig you can but weld the .5mm sheet together.

Best

Kim
K Jorgensen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:27 PM
  #11
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

I have a TIG... so I understand. Good fitting parts don't always need filler rod.

I talked with my buddy, and he ordered the new ECU from Gaspar on Thursday... so he should have it this coming week. I'll post up with the outcome.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 06:45 PM
  #12
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

My Buddy finally got the ECU. We are going to try to fire it up tomorrow.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 03:55 PM
  #13
Dr Honda
Thread Starter
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Well... we got a good running engine !!! But, we did have a few issues that we smoothed out. The biggest problem was that I wanted to try to start the pump slower... and I guess as I set the ramp down to Auto+0... it went one step more... and looped around to 255. Needless to say... we had a HUGE fireball. But, we got it shut down, and hit with the extigesher in time that there was no damage.


It was lightly snowing, and right at freezing... but we made a few adjustments. So, for anyone looking at this... Here are the final settings we used. (this is a new V10 ECU from Gaspar)



Start menu:
Pump Start Point AUTO +3
Pump Start Ramp 007
Glowplug Power 1.7v (using 2 cell lipo)
Gas Start Adjust 100%
Low Batt Volts 6,5V

Run menu:
Full Power Speed 110000rpm
Idle Speed 32000rpm
Stop Speed 20000rpm
Start/min temp 100°C
Max Temperature 750°C
Acceleration delay 024
Deceleration delay 018
Stability delay 065
Pump Limit 1000
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:17 AM
  #14
basimpsn
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1650 problems

Just saw this threat, I have a used 1650 ECU I don't need.
basimpsn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:28 PM.