Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

Smart Fly EQ10 question

Reply
Old 07-30-2011, 04:52 AM
  #1
flyerdave
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MOUNT OLIVE, NC
Posts: 580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Smart Fly EQ10 question

Fairly new to power expanders. I have a smart fly eq10 with a futaba 149dp receiver and two 2700ma NiMH batteries 6.0 volt. I soldered the deans connectors onto the MPI switches last night. This morning, hooked everything up and one thing puzzles me. When I power up one battery, the battery light on the eq10 comes on, but when I turn on the other battery, the battery light comes on but the first battery light goes off. When I operate the servos, both battery lights will be on but as soon as I go back to neutral, one of the battery lights goes back off. Just wondering if I have hooked something up wrong or is this normal? Thanks for the help.By the way,I will be using two 2300ma A123 batteries when I install the setup in my 35% aeroworks extra.
flyerdave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 05:38 AM
  #2
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smart Fly EQ10 question

Hi,
This is normal because the two inputs select the highest battery. If they are equal then both inputs are used. If you check your batteries I bet you will find that you have one battery 0.1V higher or more than the other. When the higher battery comes down the other battery kicks in.

I really would suggest you not use the MPI switches and use either our SuperSwitchHD or our Failsafe Switch.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 03:38 AM
  #3
flyerdave
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MOUNT OLIVE, NC
Posts: 580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smart Fly EQ10 question

Thanks Robert,
I think I'm going to love this EQ10 if I can ever learn to set it up properly. You were right about the batteries not being the same because after about 5 minutes, both battery indicator lights were on.
New question, I wired the elevator servos into ch.2 a&b and when I powered up, the servos are set to deflect opposite directions. I know there is a way to reverse the direction of just one servo. Am I better to try progranning with my 9CAP radio, reprogram the servo with a hitec servo programmer(the servos are hitec 7955s) or can the programming be done with the EQ10?
Yhanks for the help.
flyerdave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:52 AM
  #4
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smart Fly EQ10 question

Hi,
Yes, each servo can be reversed. When you start up in run (function zero) you can reverse servos A, B, C & D using functions 5, 6, 7 & 8. You should refer to the technical reference manual using the table following the "Servo Adjustments" heading.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:33 PM.