Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 15 of 15

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Eastvale, CA
    Posts
    350
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Ignition cutoff location question

    I am setting up a friends Extra with a DA50. Ignition is going to be used with a 7.4Li-ion with regulator. My question is where would I install the cutoff? Between the regulator and ignition box or would it go before the regulator? Or does it really matter?
    Thanks
    Graham

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    3,840
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    I would think the regulator would go after the cutoff and before the ignition.
    That's where mine goes to keep the input voltage to the ignition below 6 volts.

    Hope that helps
    Bob

  3. #3
    mando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dahlgren, IL
    Posts
    142
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    Here's a quote per Robert....."The regulator should always connect directly to the ignition. "
    You can\'t win if you don\'t enter

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    3,840
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    I think that's what I meant...or said... or something [X(]

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    ORIGINAL: killerG
    I am setting up a friends Extra with a DA50. Ignition is going to be used with a 7.4Li-ion with regulator. My question is where would I install the cutoff? Between the regulator and ignition box or would it go before the regulator? Or does it really matter?
    Thanks
    Yes, the regulator should always connect directly to the ignition to avoid loses through additional connectors.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Eastvale, CA
    Posts
    350
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    Thanks
    Graham

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Eastvale, CA
    Posts
    350
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    ok, i finally hooked it up, but I can't get the cutoff to work. I can't get power to to the ignition. I believe the module by the RX is bad. I have even used a couple of different optic cables and still, nothing. Then I took the module that mounts by the motor and installed it in another plane with a cutoff and I can get power to the ingition then. It must be the module buy the RX.
    Graham

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    ORIGINAL: killerG
    ok, i finally hooked it up, but I can't get the cutoff to work. I can't get power to to the ignition. I believe the module by the RX is bad. I have even used a couple of different optic cables and still, nothing. Then I took the module that mounts by the motor and installed it in another plane with a cutoff and I can get power to the ingition then. It must be the module buy the RX.
    Hi, you have to make sure the green LED on the fiber-optic transmitter unit is going on/off with your toggle switch on the transmitter. If it is then the module is good. If its not then you need to start troubleshooting. Most common is people think they have the transmitter programmed correctly but it is not. Use a small servo directly in the receiver to check operation of the transmitter toggle switch.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Eastvale, CA
    Posts
    350
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    Yes, the green LED on the fiber optic transmitter is going on/off in conjunction with the toggle switch on my transmitter. So my programming in the radio is correct and setup correctly. And like I said the receiver module is good since I tested it on another plane. The transmitter unit must be bad unless I am missing something else. I have hooked these up before, so I am familiar with how they are setup/work. Anything other way to test it?
    Thanks
    Graham

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    I have never seen a bad unit when the green LED is working. Are you sure you prepared BOTH ends of the fiber-optic cable by very carefully cutting then with a sharp razor or Xacto blade so the ends look like perfectly round shiny mirrors?
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Eastvale, CA
    Posts
    350
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    I am pretty sure the ends are clean cuts, but i will cut them again. I will let you know.
    Thanks
    Graham

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Eastvale, CA
    Posts
    350
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    Well, I have tried cutting the cable ends again, even used a different cable, checked all the connections again, and it still doesn't work. I did what you aksed and hooked up a servo to the throttle cut channel, and the servo works with the opperation of the toggle switch. The transmitter module must be bad. There is no other option.
    Thanks
    Graham

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    ORIGINAL: killerG
    Well, I have tried cutting the cable ends again, even used a different cable, checked all the connections again, and it still doesn't work. I did what you aksed and hooked up a servo to the throttle cut channel, and the servo works with the opperation of the toggle switch. The transmitter module must be bad. There is no other option.
    Thanks
    OK, get me your address by e-mail or calling and I will send you a new transmitter. Please send that one back so I can check it out and see what happened.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Eastvale, CA
    Posts
    350
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    I got the new module today, everything works like a champ. I will put the bad one in the mail to you tomorrow.
    Graham

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Ignition cutoff location question

    ORIGINAL: killerG
    I got the new module today, everything works like a champ. I will put the bad one in the mail to you tomorrow.
    Thanks, I want to see why the LED was coming on but the fiber-optic was not working. I have never seen
    this happen before.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.