Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

FailSafe for cutoff

Reply
Old 02-01-2013, 01:51 PM
  #1
tchanter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stanley, NC
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FailSafe for cutoff

I'm using channel 7 (a toggle switch) AR8000 - Have set the ATV on that channel to +/-150% - Bound to transmitter with that channel off and throttle at idle - The ignition cuttoff works fine BUT when I turn off the transmitter the throttle returns to idle the ignition remains on. Shouldn't it turn off becase of the AR8000's failsafe?? The cutoff is part of an EQ6...

Regards

Trey
tchanter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:05 PM
  #2
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FailSafe for cutoff

Hi,
Some Spektrum receivers only failsafe the throttle channel. You need to check your receiver specifications. You can also check by plugging in a servo, turning your switch to the cutoff enable position and then turn off your transmitter to see if the servo does a full rotation indicating it went to the failsafe position.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: tchanter

I'm using channel 7 (a toggle switch) AR8000 - Have set the ATV on that channel to +/-150% - Bound to transmitter with that channel off and throttle at idle - The ignition cuttoff works fine BUT when I turn off the transmitter the throttle returns to idle the ignition remains on. Shouldn't it turn off becase of the AR8000's failsafe?? The cutoff is part of an EQ6...

Regards

Trey
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:37 PM
  #3
tchanter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stanley, NC
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FailSafe for cutoff

Hmm... Will check tomorrow AM - thanks for the prompt reply!
tchanter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:41 PM
  #4
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FailSafe for cutoff

If the Cutoff is following the toggle switch then if the receiver failsafes to the off position the Cutoff HAS to turn off.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: tchanter

Hmm... Will check tomorrow AM - thanks for the prompt reply!
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:40 PM
  #5
tchanter
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stanley, NC
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FailSafe for cutoff

Never mind... grabbed mannual "when signal is lost the throttle channel ONLY (my emphasis) is driven to it's preset failsafe position" - Apparently I'm too use to PCM stuff...

Regards,

Trey
tchanter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:48 PM.