Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wilton, CA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    I have a Smart-fly ignition cut-off and can't seem to get the LED's to work. DA-50 with separate NMH batteries for receiver and ignition, Spektrum Radio. I tried hooking up the Smart-fly transmitter into both the 'AUX 2' and 'gear' receptacles of the Spektrum receiver and cannot get the 'status' LED to illuminate when connected in either port. I double checked both Spektrum receiver receptacles (AUX 2 and gear) by hooking up a servo and they both work when the Spektrum transmitter toggles are flipped. Also the Smart-fly receiver LED will only do one quick flash when I turn the power/charger jack switch to 'on'.

    ???????
    Don

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Hi Don,
    You could have a bad unit or the servo travel may not be high enough. Have you tried turning the servo travel all the way up on the channel you are using. If you have I can send you a replacement and see if that works. Let me know.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wilton, CA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Robert,

    The servo travel is at 100%.
    I have two of these, one that came in a plane I just bought (airframe only) and a brand new one, never used. They both do the same thing.....no LED illumination.
    Is the 'status' LED suppose to illuminate when the Smart-fly transmitter has power to it?

    Don

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    HI Don,
    Yes, the status LED on the transmitter should light when the unit is on. We have used this on the DX-7 lots of times here. I can't believe you have 2 bad units. Have you tried just plugging one connector in instead of both? This is the normal way with a single receiver. You should just leave one pigtail hanging on a single receiver. Let me know.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wilton, CA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Robert,

    Yes, I am plugging in just one pigtail to the receiver. I have tried both pigtails, no difference. Like I said, I've also tried the AUX 2 and Gear on the spektrum receiver and neither one makes a difference.

    Don

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Hi Don,
    I really don't know what to say. I can send you a new unit but it seems very unlikely you have 2 bad units. Let me know.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wilton, CA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Robert,

    Yeah, I doubt I have two bad units. Maybe I need someone with a Spektrum and same cut-off to confirm what hookup method they used.

    Anyone??

    Thanks up till this point :-)

    Don

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Hi Don,
    Do you have another radio? Try it on that on the gear channel if you do. One way to try and confirm they work.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  9. #9
    quist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    3,036
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Can you plug in a servo into the gear port to see if you are getting full throw.
    Try reversing the gear channel to see if the light comes on and wont go off.
    Try a different piece of optical cable.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wilton, CA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Smartfly cut-off question Spektrum

    Well......I'm not sure what I did, but it is working now. I think it was the suggestion Quist made; reverse the 'gear' servo on my Spektrum transmitter, but I was pretty sure I already tried that one along the way. I also found out one of the two pigtails for the Smart-fly transmitter is bad. I tried swapping them both earlier too. Not a big deal since I'm only using one receiver.

    Anyway, thanks very much to Robert and Quist for all their help. I can proceed with finishing this project.

    Thanks again!,
    Don


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.