Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Am I safe??


  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    carteret, NJ
    Posts
    343
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Am I safe??

    Hi.

    I just finished up a new 30% Yak, and have put about 10 flights on this past weekend. I just keep thinking if my battery and regulator setup is ok with the servos that I'm using.

    Here's what I have:

    1 Hitec 5955 on the rudder
    4 Hitec 5985's for the ailerons and elevators(1 on each aileron and 1 on each elevator half)
    1 625 on the throttle.

    For power I am using the Smart Fly adjustable regulator along with your HD Switch and a Fromeco 2400 2 cell battery.

    The reg is set to 6 volts, and I can oly use one of the two connectrs from the switch going in to the Rx. Every other cannel is used up on my 8 channel Rx, so I have no choice.

    So far I haven't had any problems, but I wonder if these servos are going to be too much for the regulator.

    So, the question is if I'll be safe in the long run with this setup, or if I should keep the plane grounded until I can get something better in there like a super reg and power expander.

    Also factor in that I fly the plane pretty hard.

    Thanks,

    Chris

    P.S.

    If this regulator did happen to fail due to too high of a load, would it shut down completely in the air, or is it the type that will continue to work until I shut off the switch after landing?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    seanreit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Cedar Park, TX
    Posts
    7,410
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Am I safe??


    ORIGINAL: cje0114

    The reg is set to 6 volts, and I can oly use one of the two connectrs from the switch going in to the Rx. Every other cannel is used up on my 8 channel Rx, so I have no choice.

    Can you put a "Y" on a channel and put the other lead into the Y along with a servo? Throttle servo or something like that?

  3. #3
    AirWizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Coffeyville, KS
    Posts
    1,228
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Am I safe??

    You should be fine...I fly with a 3000mah lipo.
    David
    ____I\'\'m having a Yak Attack_____

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Am I safe??

    Hi Chris,
    If you can get a small "Y" (3") and use that to plug the other regulator connector in to the rudder or throttle channel it will help. The regulator can take this easily.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    carteret, NJ
    Posts
    343
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Am I safe??

    Thanks! So you're saying that I shouldn't have any reason to worry with my setup, Right?

    I'll hook up a small "Y" connector this week. That won't cause any problems with the servo that it's hooked up with, right?

    You know, better yet, I'm going to order an equalizer for my elevator halves. This way, I'll free up a channel on my Rx for the other wire from the regulator. That should be a better deal.

    Chris

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Am I safe??

    Hi Chris,
    An Equalizer on the elevator is a good idea to free up the extra input. Let me know if I can be of any more assistance.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    carteret, NJ
    Posts
    343
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Am I safe??

    Thanks Robert.

    I just have one more question if I may. If I wanted to try the "Y" connector, could it be larger than the 3" like you mentioned? I have a bunch of connectors that are a total of 12" that I can spare. I was thinking of maybe using one of them for now until I can free up some funds for the equalizer(Bills first & hobby stuff second, ya know). Would that be ok, or will the extra length of the connector effect the performance of the regulator in a bad way?

    Thanks.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Am I safe??

    Hi Chris,
    The 12" would be better than nothing. If you use this length you might want to consider putting it on rudder as that servo will demand a lot of current and the "Y" will provide extra power to the servo when it needs it without going through a lot of connectors since it is on the same "Y" as the other regulator output.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.