Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6

  1. #1
    RoysterDW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    669
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

    I just bought a Smart Fly ignition kill system for my 28% Extra with a DA50.

    The instructions say that you can bypass the mechanical switch.

    I would like to know how many of you are doing this or using both the external switch for the ignition as well as the Smart Fly kill system?



    [8D]





  2. #2
    quist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    3,024
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

    In all of the Smart Fly planes that Robert has we have elimanted the External switch. We unplug the battery at the end of the day.

    On my personal planes I still have a switch but it is in the interior of the plane. I turn on the ignition when I assemble the plane and I shut it off when I take it apart at the end of the day.

  3. #3
    RoysterDW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    669
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?


    ORIGINAL: quist

    In all of the Smart Fly planes that Robert has we have elimanted the External switch. We unplug the battery at the end of the day.

    On my personal planes I still have a switch but it is in the interior of the plane. I turn on the ignition when I assemble the plane and I shut it off when I take it apart at the end of the day.

    Any hints on setting up in regards to placement and securing the 2 units? Any pics of setups would be very helpful.

    I havent installed it yet as I am a bit nervy of putting something in that cuts the engine [&:]

  4. #4
    quist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    3,024
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

    I use sticky back Velcro to mount he unit.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dumont, IA
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

    Just curious what type of mechanical switch anyone uses with there smart fly system and is it possible to have a switch with a charge jack on it for the battery. any help would be appreciated!!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

    Common switch used is a JR Heavy-duty switch with charge jack.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.