Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

Reply
Old 10-28-2007, 04:41 PM
  #1
RoysterDW
Thread Starter
 
RoysterDW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 676
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

I just bought a Smart Fly ignition kill system for my 28% Extra with a DA50.

The instructions say that you can bypass the mechanical switch.

I would like to know how many of you are doing this or using both the external switch for the ignition as well as the Smart Fly kill system?



[8D]




RoysterDW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 12:55 AM
  #2
quist
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,214
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

In all of the Smart Fly planes that Robert has we have elimanted the External switch. We unplug the battery at the end of the day.

On my personal planes I still have a switch but it is in the interior of the plane. I turn on the ignition when I assemble the plane and I shut it off when I take it apart at the end of the day.
quist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 05:15 PM
  #3
RoysterDW
Thread Starter
 
RoysterDW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 676
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: quist

In all of the Smart Fly planes that Robert has we have elimanted the External switch. We unplug the battery at the end of the day.

On my personal planes I still have a switch but it is in the interior of the plane. I turn on the ignition when I assemble the plane and I shut it off when I take it apart at the end of the day.

Any hints on setting up in regards to placement and securing the 2 units? Any pics of setups would be very helpful.

I havent installed it yet as I am a bit nervy of putting something in that cuts the engine [&:]
RoysterDW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 09:36 PM
  #4
quist
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,214
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

I use sticky back Velcro to mount he unit.
quist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:23 PM
  #5
pw318
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dumont, IA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

Just curious what type of mechanical switch anyone uses with there smart fly system and is it possible to have a switch with a charge jack on it for the battery. any help would be appreciated!!
pw318 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 07:11 AM
  #6
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

Common switch used is a JR Heavy-duty switch with charge jack.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:56 AM.