Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

eq6 turbo

Reply
Old 02-20-2008, 03:47 AM
  #1
budgetdude
Thread Starter
 
budgetdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 844
Default eq6 turbo

Can you run dual recievers on an eq6 turbo??
budgetdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 09:35 AM
  #2
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: eq6 turbo

Hi Andy,
In general I would not recommend it. I saw Bill Hempel running dual receivers on my Eq10 and it scared me a bit but he said it was working fine. The reason I discourage this is that two receivers this close can "talk" to each other, each one seeing the other one's local oscillator. This will cause interference and can reduce range. In addition, the two power leads coming off the Eq6 for the receiver do not have individual filters on them so if you plug two receivers in, one into each side, the electrical path can cause the local oscillator "talking" to be worse than just placing two receivers close to each other, each with their own power. This is the reason you really do NOT want to interconnect dual receivers in a plane. I know that some people run a jumper between the receivers with a fuse. This is a bad idea. Let me know if you have any more questions.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 10:19 PM
  #3
budgetdude
Thread Starter
 
budgetdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 844
Default RE: eq6 turbo

Would it change anything if I left the recievers seperated and ran extensions(or had you make me one with longer leads) and then split each battery output so that both rx's get the dual power??
budgetdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:21 AM
  #4
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: eq6 turbo

Hi Andy,
That would not make much difference. The issue is that both receivers will get the same power and this allows them to "talk" to each other over the power lines. There is now way around this with the Eq6. If you want to run dual receivers on the Eq6 I cannot guarantee anything. I strongly recommend against it.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:49 PM.