Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    140
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    JR Power Expander....

    I bought a plane that has the Power Expander Pro ... and says that it's for JR receivers....

    Can I use a Futaba receiver with this unit...??

    Thanks

    Larry
    les2097@hotmail.com
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ec89849.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	67.7 KB 
ID:	1087885  
    les2097@gmail.com

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: JR Power Expander....

    Hi Larry,
    Yes, you can. The one thing you need to take note if is that the channels with 4 outputs
    are buffered while the channels with 2 outputs are not buffered. This means if you hook
    2 servos up to a 2 channel output the receiver will see 2 servo loads. If you hook 4
    servos up to a 4 channel output the receiver will only see 1 load. I have e-mailed you
    the manual for this unit.

    ORIGINAL: les2097
    I bought a plane that has the Power Expander Pro ... and says that it's for JR receivers....
    Can I use a Futaba receiver with this unit...??
    Thanks
    Larry
    les2097@hotmail.com
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sofia, BULGARIA
    Posts
    57
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: JR Power Expander....

    Hi!

    Please can you also send me a manual for this Smart Fly power expander, because I also plan to use mine with a Futaba R149DP receiver. I just want to know how to make it work...

    My e-mail: borgeog@abv.bg

    Best regards and thanks!

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    140
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: JR Power Expander....

    Thanks Robert... I got the manual...

    On the JR Power Expander there is one extra lead... (I'm using a Futaba 149DP) ... can I plug this into the DSC receiver position to keep it from dangling in the wind...???

    On your answer to me about the 2 channel outputs are not buffered and the 4 channel outputs are buffered indication a 2 servo load and only 1 servo load as perceived by the receiver, respectively...

    Is there a big problem with this...? Is it better to use the 4 channel outputs rather than the two channel outputs...?? because of what the receiver sees a servo loads....???

    Robert, what's the 3 wire lead coming out of the expander where the two battery leads are attached...??

    Thanks again Robert.

    Larry
    les2097@gmail.com

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: JR Power Expander....

    Hi Larry,
    You should plug the power lead (3-wire receiver connection) into the battery/DSC port on the receiver.

    If you are going to have multiple servos on a channel its better to use the 4-output channels for that.
    The receiver will see less load and all the servos will see a 5V control signal.

    The lead out the back is the DSC connector for the transmitter cable.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brevard, NC
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: JR Power Expander....

    if i switch from jr 10x to jr9303 (jr921 rx), will the power expander eq 10 have to be modified? is it a "drop-in" ? any advice? thanks, paul byrum.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: JR Power Expander....

    Hi Paul,
    I am not sure what you mean by "drop-in" but if you mean will you have to make any adjustments, you might. The reason is that the two transmitters may differ in their outputs slightly. Stick centering is never perfect, they never output exactly 1.5msec pulse at neutral so when changing transmitters your centers may be off slightly. Also, it depends on the how they calibrate throw so your throws may not be exactly the same. All the adjustments should be minor though.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brevard, NC
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: JR Power Expander....

    thanks, paul byrum.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.