Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    victoria, TX
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    help for first 100cc setup

    Hello!

    I am setting up the electrical system for a 100cc Python. Here is my setup:

    7- JR8711's
    1- HS 7940TG for throttle
    1- R1221 RX
    2-Duralite A123 2300mah w/ Dean's plugs for RX
    1-Duralite A123 2300mah w/ Dean's plug for ignition

    Would you please suggest the best PowerExpander and switch system for this setup? Thank you very much for your help!

    Labron

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi Labron,
    There are two ways to go. Since you say you are using a 12-channel receiver I suppose you have a 12-channel system. In this case you could use the PowerExpander Competition 12 and do all your servo matching in the transmitter. I have heard that one of features on the JR 12-channel that helps do servo matching did not work on some of the first units so you may want to check with Horizon about your particular transmitter. The other way to go would be a PowerExpander Eq10 and you would do the servo matching using the Eq10. Please let me know if you have any other questions.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    victoria, TX
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hello Robert,

    Yes, I do have a JR 12x system. I just purchased it in November so I don't think it's the first batch of transmitters. What switches would be best for the Power Expander 12? Two SuperHD or a Fail Safe with two charge jacks? The A123 battery packs have deans plugs, if that makes any difference in the switches. Thanks for your help! Labron

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi Labron,
    Switches are really a personal preference thing, either of these two solutions are fine. With the failsafe switch you have one, small switch that turns both batteries on/off. The down side is that there is still a very small current drain on the batteries when the system is off (~5mA/day per battery). With the mechanical switches you do not have the current draw when the system is off but you have two bigger switches mount in the plane with more wiring.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    victoria, TX
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hello Robert,

    Ok, thanks very much! You are one quick replier! Labron

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup



    hi Guys,



    I need the best Power System (Smart-Fly)
    for my 35%100cc and 33% 80cc planes
     
    Here is my setup:




    35%;




     R921 Rx 2.4GHz
    4 - ds8611a
    4 - ds8411
    2 - ds821 
    with smoke Systems
    __________________________________
    33%;




     R921 Rx 2.4GHz
    2 - ds8611a
    3 - ds8711
    2 - ds821
    with smoke Systems
    __________________________________
    and I have
    1- duralite 2150 mah  2 cell 7.4 v
    1- duralite 4300 mah  4 cell 7.4 v   With Dean's plug




    Thank you for the assistance





    meshari


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi meshari,

    For your 35% plane I recommend the PowerSystem Eq6 Plus.  This has servo matching for your aileron, elevator and rudder servos.  This also gives you a regulator for your servos and a built-in Ignition Cutoff.

    For your 30% plane I suggest the PowerSystem Sport Plus.  This is tailored for 50cc-85cc planes, and also has a regulator for your servos and a built-in Ignition Cutoff.

    Please let me know if you have any other questions.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup



    Thank you Robert



    I have my battery  duralite 4300 mah  4 cell  can i use it with the  Eq6  and how many switch do i need?



    meshari


  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi Meshari,
    As long as the Duralite is a 2S2P and has Deans connectors it will work fine.  You said it was 7.4V and that is all that matters.

    As far as switches go, you would need two SuperSwitchHDs if you want to use mechanical switches or one failsafe switch.
    This is really personal preference and up to you.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup



    hi ,



     will use the duralite 4300 mah  4 cell For my 33% is it enough?



    And what type of battries you requmend for my 35%?





    Thank you Robert


  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    HI Meshari,
    You should use 2 2100mAH for your 30% and 2 4300 in your 35%.  These combinations will give you 10-16 flights per charge.  Do not use just one receiver battery pack.  An extra pack is cheap insurance to save your plane.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup



    Thank you Robert 



    Useful to talk with you, I will do what you said to me



    meshari


  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi,Robert
    I bought two eq6 for both 30% and 35% airplanes . However is it possible to use two batteries of the same brand but with different power output such as 2600mah and 5200amh for one eq6 ?

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi,
    You can but it is not advisable.  The BatShare tries to keep the batteries at equal voltage.  You will be drawing more current from the 5200 pack than the 2600 pack.  If the 5200 pack goes bad you could run out of the 2600 pack too quickly.  I would suggest running 2600mAH packs on the 30% and 5200mAH packs on the 35%.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Thank you very muchRobert

     I wish Smart-Fly 
      products Great  like you

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hello Robert,

    I'm in the installation.

    Can I put foam under Power System To protect it from vibration ?

    Should I leave the distance under the Power System the 1/4 inch?

    Is taken from you
    (Also make sure the back is off the bottom plate, 1/4" spaces will give it clearance)

    I'm new in this system, please explain how to Mounting.

    Thank you

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi,
    Do not use the back to mount the unit. Mount the unit using the grommets and eyelets (flat part of the eyelet goes under the system). Mount the system so there is a clearance under the unit and the white back is not pressing on anything. You can use 1/4" square rails to do this or 1/4" spacers on the screws. The unit should float in the grommets, do not over tighten the screws. Let me know if you have any other questions.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    hi Robert,

    the fiber-optic its to long.
    Can I Cut a Little of it?

    Thank you
    Meshari

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi Meshari,
    You have to cut both ends with a sharp razor blade or Xacto blade. They should be round and the center should look like a mirror. You cannot use sissors or cutters. We do NOT prep the ends.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hello Robert,

    I need your help to choosing the right System for my new 40% airplane.
    Iwill use:

    One Seiko servo PS-050 for the rudder

    Six of the Hitec HS 7950TG HV Servo 7.4v

    Two for each Aileron and one for each Elevato
    AS for throttle I will plug it in to receiver direct
    Two of Fromeco 4-Cell Li-Ion 5200 mah

    My Radio system is 2.4 GHZ

    Best Regards
    Meshari

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi Meshari,
    I need a bit more information. Do you want to run the servos directly off the Li-ion battery voltage? Do you want servo matching?
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Thank you Robert for your interest me

    All servos I'm going to use is compatible with 7.4v
    so I need 7.4v Reach directly to the servos

    Regard
    Meshari

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi Meshari,
    Do you want servo matching? If yes, consider the PowerExpander Eq10. If no, consider the PowerExpander Competition 12 or PowerExpander Pro.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    kuwait, KUWAIT
    Posts
    53
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Ok,
    I have a question about the PowerExpander
    I think PowerExpander accepts the two battery.

    How many volts go to the servos Without regulator ?

    Just I need 7.4V

    Thank you
    Meshari

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: help for first 100cc setup

    Hi Meshari,
    What ever voltage you put into the PowerExpander Eq10 and Pro will go to the servos. The receiver will get 5.0V. On the PowerExpander Competition 12 the voltage will be slightly less but never more than 0.4V below the battery voltage.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.