Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

EQ10 - flap servos programming

Reply
Old 04-08-2010, 08:04 AM
  #1
f106jax
Thread Starter
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default EQ10 - flap servos programming

I'm using an EQ10 with Futaba 6014rx, JR8711 servos. Flap pushrods are the same length and the servo arms in the flap up position are in the same position. As the flaps are placed in the mid and land positions, the right servo has less throw than the left servo.

The instructions for matching the servos is not sinking into my brain. (not a surprise) Anyway, would you please walk me through the method of matching the servo movement. The servos are plugged into channel 6, A is left and B is right.

Thanks very much!
f106jax is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 07:48 PM
  #2
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: EQ10 - flap servos programming

Hi,
Doing flaps is difficult whether it be our unit or any unit. Its best to have on a 3-position switch. To start put the switch in the center position. This equates to neutral on other surfaces. Get both your flaps equal. Its best to try to get the mechanical linkage as close as possible in this position to minimize the adjustments. Function 1 is servo A, function 2 is servo B. Once these are equal, do the full down or full up positions. Just use Incr and Decr to get the flaps into position.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 06:14 AM
  #3
f106jax
Thread Starter
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 903
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: EQ10 - flap servos programming

Thanks Robert! That did the trick. Took several pushrod adjustments but both flaps are working perfectly.
f106jax is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 06:39 AM
  #4
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: EQ10 - flap servos programming

Hi Mike,
As soon as I can get around to re-writing the manual for the Eq, Eq6 and Eq10 I will put in a special section on doing flags. Let us know how we can be of further help.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:11 AM.