Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

Power expander sport

Reply
Old 06-01-2010, 06:15 PM
  #1
axaaxa
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dublin, TN
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Power expander sport

Hi
i
Is it ok to use the expander sport with your 3D Servo matcher
axaaxa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 06:21 PM
  #2
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Power expander sport

Yes. You will experience voltage drop to the servos, just like through a MatchBox, since you are running all the servos through a single lead.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 06:14 AM
  #3
axaaxa
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dublin, TN
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Power expander sport



Thank you,please understand I only recently ventured in to 35% Aeroplanes and I want to improve my power set,particulary I want to match my servos I have 2 HS 5625 on each wing.

My set up is basic 2 batt 5cell NIMH 6000mah in total running thro independent switches,then to the receiver.

So on reccomandation from the forums in RCU,I had a look at your products and the servo matcher may suit me,but I figure I need two,and you mentioned a voltage drop..............

So what do you reccomend for my set up

Kind Regards
axaaxa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 09:27 AM
  #4
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Power expander sport

Hi,
First, the PowerExpander Sport has no battery protection built in, so if one pack were to short then it would take the other pack out. No redundancy. For a 35% plane with NiMH batteries we recommend the PowerExpander Eq10 which has the equivalent of 10 Equalizers built into it. Let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 10:49 AM
  #5
axaaxa
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dublin, TN
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Power expander sport



Thanks

Had a good look at the Eq10 on you site.

Nearly there now,- with regard to the equalizers is it a plug and play affair, or do the servos have to set up one at a time?

Kind Regards
axaaxa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 12:40 PM
  #6
rrritchey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Power expander sport

Hi,
Yes, you have to program the servos one at a time to match them all, just like you would have to with the Equalizer 3D.
rrritchey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:44 PM.