RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/smart-fly-quest-engineering-support-forum-328/)
-   -   H-9 46% Ult Bi-Plane (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/smart-fly-quest-engineering-support-forum-328/10123366-h-9-46%25-ult-bi-plane.html)

RC GOLF 11-08-2010 07:00 PM

H-9 46% Ult Bi-Plane

I am starting to put together my Ultimate.
It will have a DA150 or 170 for power.
I plan on using a AR9100 Rx, Jr 9303 Tx, Spektrum 4500 6v ni-mh rx pack (2), 8611a servo's or Hitec equivilent.
I am trying to figure out if I need a smart fly EQ board or not or which one.
I have never used a power board before but I have watched your video on TBM site, helpful but I still don't really understand the idf I need or which one if I do.
I have flown every thing from tiny elec's to 35% carden edge 540. This is new ground for me.
HELP

rrritchey 11-09-2010 09:22 AM

RE: H-9 46% Ult Bi-Plane

Hi,
If you use the AR9100 then you cannot use a power system, anyone's power system as the AR9100 is designed as a stand-alone receiver only.

Personally I don't think AR9100 is up to running this size plane but that is my opinion. If you do want to look at one of our systems I would suggest you get the AR9000 or JR 921 and look at our PowerExpander Eq10.

RC GOLF 11-09-2010 01:37 PM

Bob,
Thank you for your response. I have just spent an hour or so with horizon prod. sup. talking to them about comparison of smart fly against the use of match box's and other recr's. I looked at the 921 and the 9000 it seems to me that the EQ10 or which ever one I would choose is replacing the matcbox's which each one can have it's own power supply for the servos it is controlling. So what I am gaining is ?? all in one board (EQ) as instead of two or three matchboxs.
This plane flew for years with old tech stuff w 8411's. But if the new tech stuff is better or easier and more reliable to use I want it.