Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Aquacraft ep1 problem (please help!) Urgent.

Reply
Old 06-30-2011, 01:52 AM
  #1
zaane
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: cronulla, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Aquacraft ep1 problem (please help!) Urgent.



Hey guys,

I'm currently making a 21" monohull rc boat for a school design project and have just tried to run my setup and have run intoa serious issue.
The motor im using is an aquacraft ep1 outboard, connecting to a futaba 2-ch am radio, and a proboat waterproof esc.

As ive gone to pull the throttle trigger, the motor came to life, yet there was not movement from the prop.

I've decided to leave it be and get some help as im a total newbie at this and don't want to potentially ruin anything else.

If anyone could help out, it would be absolutely appriciated.

cheers,

zane.

zaane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:30 AM
  #2
cowana
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft ep1 problem (please help!) Urgent.

I'm not familiar with the EP1, but nearly it sounds like the coupler that connects the motor to the shaft of the outboard has come loose. There should be a setscrew that connects them - does this need tightning?
cowana is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:44 AM
  #3
ryan_t888
 
ryan_t888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5,500
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft ep1 problem (please help!) Urgent.

If this is the case snug it up and use Loc-Tite.

Ryan
ryan_t888 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 06:32 AM
  #4
NobodyFamous
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cheverie, NS, CANADA
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft ep1 problem (please help!) Urgent.

with your batteries removed, turn the prop by hand, and watch any moving parts you can see to find out where the shafts are un connected.

I also suspect a set screw somewhere.  I have learned the hard way, you need to put loc-tite (blue) on ALL set screws.  Otherwise they will loosen off and fly out!  Then they're gone.
NobodyFamous is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:23 PM.