Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

LIPO- Who makes good matched cells for good prices?

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

LIPO- Who makes good matched cells for good prices?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 09:34 AM
Rich404

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LIPO- Who makes good matched cells for good prices?

Hi all,
I have been using a ZIPPY 5000MAHLIPO for a few years which was great because I learned how to get comfortable with LIPO’s without spending a fortune and ruining it. The problem with cheap LIPO’s are that the cells are not matched and anyone that uses them knows that a LIPO is only as good as its weakest cell. There were times when it would take me two days to rebalance and recharge these batteries after a single use because they would be so out of whack after a run.
I am now ready to upgrade and get better cells for my boats. I know that there are the cheap cells like the Hobby King specials and then there is the high end stuff like Thunder Power on the other end of the spectrum.
My question to all: Who makes good quality matched cells for a decent price?
-Rich.
Old 04-19-2012, 11:26 AM
Goldenduff

Default RE: LIPO- Who makes good matched cells for good prices?

I have used turnigy and zippy and all balance well! Do you only use 70% of the capacity? Do you charge and discharge at the recommended C rating? The discharge C is apparently often exaggerated. Do you balance charge at least every 3rd charge? I balance charge every time.
If you do all of the above, including use at say 3/4 C discharge then I must have been consistently lucky!

Thunder packs are expensive....
Old 04-19-2012, 01:48 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

Which part are you asking to be "matched"?
Old 04-19-2012, 02:11 PM
Goldenduff

All
Old 04-19-2012, 04:54 PM
srt10
My Feedback: (20)

ORIGINAL: Rich404

Hi all,