Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Aquacraft Revolt 30

Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 02:02 PM
  #26
Diesel6401
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Quote:
ORIGINAL: hobby_man

WHAT PROP? I get 33 mph out of the box with mine. I sharpened the stock prop and now get 36 mph. 2s4p 6000mah Turnigy NaNo Tech 45c
2s4p? This might help you.


(2) 2s packs in series = 4s
(2) 2s packs in parallel = 2s2p
(2) 3s packs in series= 6s
(2) 3s packs in parallel = 3s2p
(2) 4s packs in series = 8s
(2) 4s packs in parallel = 4s2p
(1) 2s pack + (1) 3s pack = 5s
(2) 5s packs in series = 10s
(2) 5s packs in parallel = 5s2p
(2) 6s packs in series = 12s
(2) 6s packs in parallel = 6s2p


* All RTR boats are pre-wired for series circuit and typically run 4s from the factory (i.e(2) 2s packs in series),

For more information about series and parallel: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=17907405&postcount=3
Diesel6401 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 08:37 PM
  #27
nitroade
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: VancouverBC, CANADA
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Just picked mine up this afternoon. Was all excited for the maiden voyage tomorrow but it's calling for rain [&o]
nitroade is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 07:16 PM
  #28
skyword
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Middle of the mitten, MI
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Question- Is lubricating the motor bearings really needed? I've read that this actually can wash away the grease that is packed in them. The manual for the Revolt says to oil!
Thanks,
JJ
skyword is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 04:30 AM
  #29
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Just picked mine up yesterday and was all excited to run it today but one of the LiPos I picked up for it has a bad pigtail connector. Iwill have to swap out the connector today so a report on how it runs will have to wait until this weekend. Ididn't see the part about oiling the motor bearings (just greasing the flex shaft) so I will have to reread the manual. Looks like I missed some stuff. Ihave been into 1/5 scale buggies for a while and traded one of my smaller buggies for a 30" .21 Nitro mono hull. While I love the sound and run times of Nitro, it really is a pain to prep and maintain. That is why I decided to add an electric boatto my fleet of rc (haveone 30" Nitro Mono Hull, two 800 size helos, one 1/5 scale GP Bike, one 1/5 scale SC Truck, one 1/5 scale Drag Bike, one 1/8 scale Top Fuel Nitro Dragster, one 1/8 scaleNitro Pro-Mod and various micro helos for chasing the dogs in the house).

MadDog
MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 04:48 AM
  #30
stuball56
 
stuball56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Interesting collection. I would think you will like the "low maintenance" electrics. A little off the topic but, what micro/mini heli would you recommend for a first timer?
stuball56 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 06:11 AM
  #31
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

For a first timer I would recomend anything "coaxial", however almost all coaxials need to be run in the house or some sort of an indoor space that has no wind or strong air flow.  If you intend to fly outside I would recomend getting a good simulator for your computer and learn the basics that way.  Every time you crash on a simulator you just hit the reset button and start over.  Crash outside and you will be dropping a few bills every time.  When you are ready to get into real helos I would recomend saving your money until you can get the largest scale available regardless if it is nitro or electric.  The larger the helo the more stable and easiest to recover before crashing.

Hope this helps,
MadDog
MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 06:37 AM
  #32
MassiveOverkill
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Melbourne, FL
Posts: 248
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30


Quote:
ORIGINAL: stuball56

Interesting collection. I would think you will like the "low maintenance" electrics. A little off the topic but, what micro/mini heli would you recommend for a first timer?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1548027

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=350297
MassiveOverkill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 06:40 AM
  #33
stuball56
 
stuball56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Thank you very much. I am thinking of getting RealFlight and learning on that this winter.
stuball56 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 09:08 AM
  #34
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

RealFlight is what Ilearned on and highly recomend it. Even though I have been flying a long time, I still get on the sumulator every now and then to hone the old skills.

MadDog
MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:27 PM
  #35
Diesel6401
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Got a chance to drive a Revolt on Sunday, what a nice boat! AQ hit a homerun with this thing, the trimtabs and hardware are sexy as hell!!!!


Phoenix sim for me!!!
Diesel6401 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 10:26 PM
  #36
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Got a chance to take my new Revolt 30 to the pond today. This thing is sweeeeeet and runs faster then my nitro deep-v of the same size. Iam feeling a little nostalgic and have a hankerin to buy a large scale (think 57" with Zenoah powerplant)thunderboat. Anyone know of a used one for sale?

MadDog
MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 12:39 PM
  #37
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Changed the prop out today and scuffed the bottom a little on my Revolt 30 and picked up another 8 mph.  Ran 43.1 mph (according to my Garmin) on 4s 40c Lipos.

MadDog
MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 01:26 PM
  #38
Foamaholic
 
Foamaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Ohio, OH
Posts: 898
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

What prop did you use?
Foamaholic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:32 PM
  #39
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Foamaholic:

I believe the stock prop is a 42x55 and I changed it out for a 47x50. A friend had the extra prop and said it would give me a few more mph without putting a strain on themotor or overheating it. He was correct. I may be able to tweek it a little (by playingwith the trim tabs)to get an even 44mph out of it but I think that is going to be the ceiling. Ialso noticed the cooling tubing was pinched down a little where it both enters and exits the hull. I took a couple of small pieces of aluminum tubing that was the perfect diameter and glued them into the entrance and exit points. The silicone cooling tubing now plugs into the aluminum tubing and allows as muchwater to flow as possible.

MadDog
MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:36 PM
  #40
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30



duplicate

MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 06:38 AM
  #41
Foamaholic
 
Foamaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Ohio, OH
Posts: 898
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Thanks. My friend's does 36 stock. He will be eager to try the prop you did. Good fix on the tight tube.
Foamaholic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:12 AM
  #42
hobby_man
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MadDogDan

Foamaholic:

I believe the stock prop is a 42x55 and I changed it out for a 47x50. A friend had the extra prop and said it would give me a few more mph without putting a strain on the motor or overheating it. He was correct. I may be able to tweek it a little (by playing with the trim tabs) to get an even 44mph out of it but I think that is going to be the ceiling. I also noticed the cooling tubing was pinched down a little where it both enters and exits the hull. I took a couple of small pieces of aluminum tubing that was the perfect diameter and glued them into the entrance and exit points. The silicone cooling tubing now plugs into the aluminum tubing and allows as much water to flow as possible.

MadDog

where did you buy a 47 x 50 prop? I can't find one
hobby_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:12 PM
  #43
MadDogDan
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

I got the 4750/2 prop from a friend who races with a local club here in CO. He had two, one on his boat and a spare so he gave up the spare. Ihave no idea where he purchased it from.

MadDog
MadDogDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:29 PM
  #44
hobby_man
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MadDogDan

I got the 4750-2 prop from a friend who races with a local club here in CO. He had two, one on his boat and a spare so he gave up the spare. I have no idea where he purchased it from.

MadDog
I watched a group of racers in Greely CO last October running on a pond in the park behind a strip mall with a King Super. Our water here in MN is getting cold by october. You guys get a longer season
hobby_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:10 PM
  #45
Wavekatcher
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ben Lomond, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

I just unboxed my new silver rxr Revolt. The motor and the flex shaft/stuffing tubing look to be misaligned like a drunk chimp built it.

I am only guessing that may rob a little speed??? Or does alignment not matter much since it is a flex shaft????????

Anyone care to check alignment on your boat and post a picture (from the top down) for me?


Wavekatcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:05 AM
  #46
diy-pro
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: , TX
Posts: 192
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

Aquacraft is garbage. For what they charge i wouldnt be surprised if a drunk chimp did put those things together.
diy-pro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:41 AM
  #47
hobby_man
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Wavekatcher

I just unboxed my new silver rxr Revolt. The motor and the flex shaft/stuffing tubing look to be misaligned like a drunk chimp built it.[img][/img]

I am only guessing that may rob a little speed??? Or does alignment not matter much since it is a flex shaft????????

Anyone care to check alignment on your boat and post a picture (from the top down) for me?


where is your pictue?
hobby_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:00 AM
  #48
Wavekatcher
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ben Lomond, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30


Quote:
ORIGINAL: hobby_man


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Wavekatcher

I just unboxed my new silver rxr Revolt. The motor and the flex shaft/stuffing tubing look to be misaligned like a drunk chimp built it.[img][/img]

I am only guessing that may rob a little speed??? Or does alignment not matter much since it is a flex shaft????????

Anyone care to check alignment on your boat and post a picture (from the top down) for me?


where is your pictue?
here is a picture (see next post)
Wavekatcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:06 AM
  #49
Wavekatcher
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ben Lomond, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

I called Hobbico and the tech guy says it is ok as long as the flex shaft isn't rubbing the stuffing tube.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61776.jpg
Views:	655
Size:	77.2 KB
ID:	1784777  
Wavekatcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:09 AM
  #50
stuball56
 
stuball56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Aquacraft Revolt 30

That doesnt look to good to me, I would adjust so that when you slide the flexshaft into the tube, it goes into the collet without having to even touch it. Thats how I got mine on my Motley Crew now, and I can really tell the difference when I blip the throttle out of the water. Much less vibration.
stuball56 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:08 AM.