Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Nubie, have lipo question

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Nubie, have lipo question

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2012, 04:20 AM
Varooom

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nubie, have lipo question

Hello,

This is my first post. Although I am not new to RC, I am new to FE boats, especially brushless lipo boats. I recently purchased a Aquacraft Revolt 30 and ordered a 4s pak and a charger.

I have read everything on this site and others about lipo batterys and believe I understand them well. I understand the rates, how to charge, discharge, store and configure pack packages safely(thanks for all the good info out there).

The only thing that confuses me is pricing so....... here is my question.

My first lipo pack I purchased is a Sky lipo, 5000mah, 4s, 14.8volt, 40c, 1c charge rate. It cost me $64.99 and seems to work great.

I recently decided to get another battery pack but decided to look at other manufacturers, not because I had any problems with the Sky pack but just to try something different. I checked out the Grim Racer packs because my boat is Aquacraft.

Well the same rated pack, 5000, 40c, 4s, 1c is $149.99!?!!??.

So is the GrimRacer pack that much better than the Sky even though they have the same specs (the spec sheet of both packs is identicle)?

Or am I paying for the GrimRacer sticker on it?

Thanks for your time, sorry so long. I look forward to discussing and learning about FEs with you.

Doug (Varooom)
Old 07-06-2012, 05:13 AM
Goldenduff

Default RE: Nubie, have lipo question

I would say you are paying for the sticker- they might have slightly more cycles in them but not 2-3 times more.

There are only so many manufacturers so many lipos come from the same shop ultimately.