Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??

Reply
Old 09-16-2012, 03:10 PM
  #1
tc4 drft
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??

Ive got the Castle 200HV with 5.5mm connectors, male on the positive lead and female on the negitive. If my lipo packs have the female on the positive and male on the negitive, could I hook one positive and negitive lead on the lipos together, then one lipo positive into the esc and the other lipo negitive into the ESC, thus eliminating the need for a harness? Are you confused yet?
tc4 drft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:11 PM
  #2
Foamaholic
 
Foamaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Ohio, OH
Posts: 898
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??

If I understand, yes you can do that. That's what I and my fellow boaters do. Just don't plug a battery into another battery and short them out.
Foamaholic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:47 AM
  #3
NobodyFamous
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cheverie, NS, CANADA
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??

yeas, thats called series wiring 2x2s becomes 4s.  Just pay attention and don't short stuff out.
NobodyFamous is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 04:47 PM
  #4
hobby_man
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??

wire your speed control for series.

like the factory boats (revolt 30 and so on)

NEVER try and remember how the batteries plug in, one time mistake cost you a speed control and a set of lipo's
hobby_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:11 PM
  #5
srt10
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Frederick, CO
Posts: 5,969
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??


Quote:
ORIGINAL: tc4 drft

Ive got the Castle 200HV with 5.5mm connectors, male on the positive lead and female on the negitive. If my lipo packs have the female on the positive and male on the negitive, could I hook one positive and negitive lead on the lipos together, then one lipo positive into the esc and the other lipo negitive into the ESC, thus eliminating the need for a harness? Are you confused yet?
yes, it sounds like you got it
srt10 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 02:17 PM
  #6
tc4 drft
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??

Thats pretty much what Im looking to do, only half of that. 2 packs, 1 esc. Thanks for the pic!
tc4 drft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:24 PM
  #7
srt10
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Frederick, CO
Posts: 5,969
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I need a seperate harness if I have 5.5mm connectors??

Right on man!
glad to help....
srt10 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:45 PM.