Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 20 of 20

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30"???

    I am trying to figure out a way of getting more run time out of my Revolt. Here is what i was thinking(and would appreciate some sound input). I was thinking about putting a 120 amp, programmable ESC and a higher kv motor into the Revolt and run 2x2s 80c 8000 mah lipos in parallel, and am thinking about suitable motors. I already happen to have a new Castle 1406 4 pole 5700kv and have run them in other trucks and they are torque and horsepower monsters when given enough juice and operate at fairly cool temps even when being raced or run real hard. I also have a slightly used Castle 1410 4 pole 3800kv that is a serious powerhouse in the torque department. Both of these motors were designed and built to race on land on and in classes that limit you to a 2s lipo. So I am wondering if I put a higher kv motor in the boat and run two 2s's in parallel for a longer run time is a good idea or not? I am pretty sure that either motor would have more than enough torque and power to run the Revolt. What do you guys think?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Frederick, CO
    Posts
    5,927
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    higher kv motors pull more amps to get the same speeds on lower volts...
    = less runtime
    first to own the Mini Slash!
    Amsoil Dealer.. 6XL Revo, Baja 5B, Losi8T, PS295, UL-1, AQ MC, OM29, DF33

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    , TX
    Posts
    192
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    And the torque needed to turn a prop at the speeds needed to push a boat come from low kv. You can try but in my best experience you will be asking alot from any high kv motor unless the boat is small. Look up other forum posts as guidlines of what to upgrade your boat with. you will find plenty of setups that have been tested.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    The Castle 1410 3800kv is a Torque monster w/ huge power with it's 4 x 1.0(compared to the rest of their 540 motors, that is 40% more torque than their other 4 pole powerhouse motors) inch long neodinum magnets. It is essentially a 550 in a 540 can, are you trying to tell me that I won't get enough torque and power out of that so called "high KV" motor if I ran it on my 80c 8000mah 2s batts. 2 paralell at a time in a Revolt 30, and you think it won't work? It takes a fair amount oof torque to get up on plane, but once on plane it takes uses 14-18% of the motors available torque to keep it on plane. So you go ahead and keep getting your 7-10 minute runtimes on 4s while I will be getting 20 minutes plus, according to my calculations..... oooohh did I forget to mention that I am taking my Marine engineering with two Major's, one in Hydrodynamics and the other in Propulsion Technology. So my equations are correct. I have done my research.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Please name a few or post links if you can. Thanks

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Aberdeen, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,003
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    I don't wanna get involved but the revolt is not uncommon so would have thought set ups are tried and tested- please let us know if you get 20min run times with decent speed. Cheers

    Happy Landings

  7. #7
    siberianhusky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Peterborough, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    611
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    That setup will go up in flames, be sure to take video because it will not work for long. With any luck it will only be the esc.
    Best of luck, If you're determined to try it start out with a really really small prop.
    Damn huskies ate it!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Frederick, CO
    Posts
    5,927
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30


    ORIGINAL: keven3707

    The Castle 1410 3800kv is a Torque monster w/ huge power with it's 4 x 1.0(compared to the rest of their 540 motors, that is 40% more torque than their other 4 pole powerhouse motors) inch long neodinum magnets. It is essentially a 550 in a 540 can, are you trying to tell me that I won't get enough torque and power out of that so called ''high KV'' motor if I ran it on my 80c 8000mah 2s batts. 2 paralell at a time in a Revolt 30, and you think it won't work? It takes a fair amount oof torque to get up on plane, but once on plane it takes uses 14-18% of the motors available torque to keep it on plane. So you go ahead and keep getting your 7-10 minute runtimes on 4s while I will be getting 20 minutes plus, according to my calculations..... oooohh did I forget to mention that I am taking my Marine engineering with two Major's, one in Hydrodynamics and the other in Propulsion Technology. So my equations are correct. I have done my research.
    talk about insert foot!

    so many wrongs in this... your hydrodynamics wont do didly with this setup...
    my TP Power 4092 2200kv on 4s will run much better and have better runtimes than your 3800kv on 2s any day of the week....
    and your comment of only using 14-18% of the motor once on plane [:-]
    LOL, FE boats pull massive amounts of amps because they are constantly pushing the hull through water...

    Hight kv + low volts to get the same speeds as low kv + higher volts will pull much much more amps = less runtimes and more excess heat


    oh and by the way there is a class called N2
    that is 2s FE racing, and believe me or not, those race boats pull massive amounts of amps vs the P class (4s)
    you need a 200+ amp esc to run that class without blowing things up, plus you need to run 10,000mah vs 5.000mah to finish 6 laps


    so there goes your education right down the toilet [:-]
    first to own the Mini Slash!
    Amsoil Dealer.. 6XL Revo, Baja 5B, Losi8T, PS295, UL-1, AQ MC, OM29, DF33

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    thanks man, I am simply trying something new.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Do you even have a post elementary education? You are talking race boats......I AM NOT GOING TO RACE THIS BOAT!. I am simply trying to see what is possible..... and if you have a problem or arguement with that, then keep it to yourself. I was asking for pointers, not to have an uneducated goof feebley attempt to make me look bad. Here's to you, not even original enough to come up with a screen name so he just uses the name of a P.O.S truck that only he wishes he owned.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30



  12. #12
    siberianhusky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Peterborough, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    611
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Hate to say it but everything SRT told you is dead on right and your assumptions about how an rc boat power system actually functions are dead wrong!
    You setup is a recipe for a very expensive disaster, especially since you have absolutely no experience with rc boats.
    YOur unloaded rpm with the 1406 is over 40 000 rpm - way to high, your amp draw will be through the roof, the other one is a bit small for the size of boat, is only a 36x52 motor.
    Lets say for fun they are 1500 watt motors, 1500 / 7.4 = 202 amps, I guarantee you will be trying to pull more watts with a prop big enough to drive the boat at any speed, you spikes will be much much higher, possibly 250+.
    You should be looking at about a 1515 if you want to stay with Castle, then if you want to stay with 2s you should look at the highest amperage Castle offers, even then that will be a very highly stressed setup.
    No matter what you will not see the runtimes you think you will, the cooling systems aren't efficient enough to remove the amount of heat we generate, they just slow down the process. Unless you reduce you amp draw significantly, usually by running higher voltage to lower the amp draw.
    I run a 1512 in a similar sized boat on 4s I regularly see well over 100 amps average and spikes much higher, half the voltage and those amp numbers will double, and the 1512 will not be working as hard as the motors you have.
    There is nothing you can bring over from cars that applies to marine power setups, completely different approach and requirements.
    There is a reason N class racing isn't very popular, the low voltage setups are real component killers, whether you race or not the amperage you pull will still be in the ball park of what the racers pull.
    Damn huskies ate it!

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Blaine, MN
    Posts
    540
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    ORIGINAL: keven3707

    The Castle 1410 3800kv is a Torque monster w/ huge power with it's 4 x 1.0(compared to the rest of their 540 motors, that is 40% more torque than their other 4 pole powerhouse motors) inch long neodinum magnets. It is essentially a 550 in a 540 can, are you trying to tell me that I won't get enough torque and power out of that so called ''high KV'' motor if I ran it on my 80c 8000mah 2s batts. 2 paralell at a time in a Revolt 30, and you think it won't work? It takes a fair amount oof torque to get up on plane, but once on plane it takes uses 14-18% of the motors available torque to keep it on plane. So you go ahead and keep getting your 7-10 minute runtimes on 4s while I will be getting 20 minutes plus, according to my calculations..... oooohh did I forget to mention that I am taking my Marine engineering with two Major's, one in Hydrodynamics and the other in Propulsion Technology. So my equations are correct. I have done my research.

    2S (11.1 VOLTS X 3800KV = 42,180 NO LOAD RPM, 35,520 IS THE MAX ONE CAN GO.

    If you do not like the answer DO NOT ask the question.

    If you do this set up make sure you shoot a video and post it for us

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Hobby Man thinks a 2s is 11.1 volts.....ummm I don't think so, try 7.4 volts genius. As for Siberian Husky, there is a reason for those 4 numbers on Castle's motors, and here it is: 14 refers to the can's diameter - 1.4 inches and the other, 06 or 10 is the length of the 4 pole magnets on the rotor - 06 = 0.6 inches, and that's right, you guessed it 1.0 is 1 inch. Anymore sound reasoning outhere as to why this won't work. I already have a new CC hydra 240 amp ESC. If all you two guys wanna do is argue, then argue with factual numbers.

  15. #15
    siberianhusky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Peterborough, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    611
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Take video so we can see it fail, because no matter what you think it will.
    Glad you have such an amazing grasp of the obvious, now everybody will be enlightened about Castle motor sizing because only you seem to be smart enough to figure it out. LMAO!
    Damn huskies ate it!

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Anytime anyone has tried something differrent in history small, ignorant minds tell them it can't be done. You must be an American, small minded....check ignorant....check ..... GOOF.......check......yup must be an American. BTW I plan on making a video. BTW I never once said that I was attached to the idea of a 2s boat I am simply trying something. As far as you go Dogboy, you obviously didn't understand how satle sizes their motors, in the post before that you said that the 1406 is a bit bigger than the 1410. I am done with this thread you guys can keep argueing, and saying what a moron you think i am for trying this, how I am wasting money. I don't care

  17. #17
    siberianhusky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Peterborough, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    611
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Are you illiterate as well? I said the 1406 is over 40 000 rpm and the other one is also a bit small, can't even read Peterborough Ontario?
    "YOur unloaded rpm with the 1406 is over 40 000 rpm - way to high, your amp draw will be through the roof, the other one is a bit small for the size of boat, is only a 36x52 motor. "
    Just try real hard and sound it all out I'm sure you'll get it.

    "From: Peterborough, ON, CANADA" out of my signature line!
    Care to stick your foot farther in your face?
    Damn huskies ate it!

  18. #18
    martno1fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    11,390
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    The only person i see arguing or calling people names is you,11 posts and your done with the thread simply because people gave you there opinion after you asked for it ?.
    If you dont like the answers dont ask the questions.I actually agree with these guys your setup wont work unless your plan is to create lots of smoke or start a fire .
    Mart
    Waveridermouldings,Manufacturer of quality race proven Hulls.

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Blaine, MN
    Posts
    540
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30


    ORIGINAL: hobby_man

    ORIGINAL: keven3707

    The Castle 1410 3800kv is a Torque monster w/ huge power with it's 4 x 1.0(compared to the rest of their 540 motors, that is 40% more torque than their other 4 pole powerhouse motors) inch long neodinum magnets. It is essentially a 550 in a 540 can, are you trying to tell me that I won't get enough torque and power out of that so called ''high KV'' motor if I ran it on my 80c 8000mah 2s batts. 2 paralell at a time in a Revolt 30, and you think it won't work? It takes a fair amount oof torque to get up on plane, but once on plane it takes uses 14-18% of the motors available torque to keep it on plane. So you go ahead and keep getting your 7-10 minute runtimes on 4s while I will be getting 20 minutes plus, according to my calculations..... oooohh did I forget to mention that I am taking my Marine engineering with two Major's, one in Hydrodynamics and the other in Propulsion Technology. So my equations are correct. I have done my research.

    2S (11.1 VOLTS X 3800KV = 42,180 NO LOAD RPM, 35,520 IS THE MAX ONE CAN GO.

    If you do not like the answer DO NOT ask the question.

    If you do this set up make sure you shoot a video and post it for us

    oops TYPO I was laughing my a off and I typed wrong

    2S (7.4 VOLTS X 3800KV = 42,180 NO LOAD RPM, 35,520 IS THE MAX ONE CAN GO.


  20. #20
    Moderator Justaddwata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    RI-USA, RI
    Posts
    5,757
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Castle 1410 3800kv 4 pole in a Revolt 30

    Thread is closed.
    One of the better gas boat picture sites - http://imageevent.com/justaddwata


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.