Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

50" Fountain Deep Vee Powerboar P1 Setup

Reply
Old 11-22-2012, 02:51 AM
  #1
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 50" Fountain Deep Vee Powerboar P1 Setup

Hello guys,
What kind of setup do you suggest for a 50" / 127cm deep vee? One motor or may be a twin,
Personally I prefer the rwin version, 8S, 10S? Thank you for your help

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh14743.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	1822483  
Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:21 AM
  #2
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Nobody ??
Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:14 AM
  #3
expresscraft
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: COCOA, FL
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

We have seen guys do fine with a single castle 2028 set up on that size hull,twins are always cool but not needed for good results.
expresscraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:04 AM
  #4
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Twin setup on 6 s would be my choice,keeps cost down and you can still get into the 50s.The tp or similar motors would work fine and two will cost what one castle motor costs.I have two 5694 1000 kv motors im using in a 58" hull,hope to start the build in the new year ready for spring.I saw a video on utube of a guy running twin 4092 1390kv motors in a conquest cat the other day and hes getting 67 mph on 6 s,not saying id go with 40 mm motors but shows whats possible and you dont need to go hv.
Mart
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:03 PM
  #5
Hp88
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

I just started a build of a 57"Apache hull that will run twin brushless, will start with 6s and see how she goes. Still looking at motors, like the TP motors seems people are getting good results running them.
Hp88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:50 AM
  #6
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Hp88

I just started a build of a 57''Apache hull that will run twin brushless, will start with 6s and see how she goes. Still looking at motors, like the TP motors seems people are getting good results running them.
I have two sat here ready to go in my 58 Apache,setup will be 6s,using t 180 esc,s version 3 with extra caps running cr 50 mm props.I know 6 s will get me over 50 a friend used 910 kv outrunners in his ,the 6oo size heli motors on 6s with cheap hk esc,s she runs 50 mph for 7 mins and hes had that setup for 2 years she runs great,hasnt even tried 2 packs per motor yet.I may go up to 8 s later and see how fast she will go but then id need better esc,s more ££ lol.
Mart
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 01:11 AM
  #7
Hp88
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50


Quote:
ORIGINAL: martno1fan


I have two sat here ready to go in my 58 Apache,setup will be 6s,using t 180 esc,s version 3 with extra caps running cr 50 mm props.I know 6 s will get me over 50 a friend used 910 kv outrunners in his ,the 6oo size heli motors on 6s with cheap hk esc,s she runs 50 mph for 7 mins and hes had that setup for 2 years she runs great,hasnt even tried 2 packs per motor yet.I may go up to 8 s later and see how fast she will go but then id need better esc,s more ££ lol.
Mart
Sounds like we will see a few Apaches on the water soon, it just shows you can build a good boat up and not have sell your soul to the devil lol. I am going to give the t180,s a go, they seems to do the job well, good idea to add the cap bank. What rotation are you going to setup on your props, I am not sure what to set my to yet.

Hp88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:44 AM
  #8
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

From what i do know about prop rotation using my hulls is inwards creates wierd handling,outward calms the handling down and the boats run smoother.The guy running the twin outrunners tried both ways and he likes the outward rotation much better and another friend running an inline k600 gas motor with a splitter gearbox also found the same he tried inwards first and ended up swithcing and she now runs much nicer.I can post a few videos of the electirc one if your interested.
Mart
ps the esc,s came with the extra caps,version 3 has them so if you buy any ask for version 3 those are the ones i sell and i cant keep up with demand lol.
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:26 PM
  #9
SCGoFast
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lugoff, SC
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50


Quote:
ORIGINAL: martno1fan

From what i do know about prop rotation using my hulls is inwards creates wierd handling,outward calms the handling down and the boats run smoother.The guy running the twin outrunners tried both ways and he likes the outward rotation much better and another friend running an inline k600 gas motor with a splitter gearbox also found the same he tried inwards first and ended up swithcing and she now runs much nicer.I can post a few videos of the electirc one if your interested.
Mart
ps the esc,s came with the extra caps,version 3 has them so if you buy any ask for version 3 those are the ones i sell and i cant keep up with demand lol.
Hi Mart - I've been looking at the new 59" Outerlimits SV that Rick just came out with at Central RC and even though I am a "gasser" guy have thought about doing one in electric. I would like to see those vids when you get time to post them.

Thanks,

Phil

SCGoFast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:36 PM
  #10
Hp88
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50


Quote:
ORIGINAL: martno1fan

From what i do know about prop rotation using my hulls is inwards creates wierd handling,outward calms the handling down and the boats run smoother.The guy running the twin outrunners tried both ways and he likes the outward rotation much better and another friend running an inline k600 gas motor with a splitter gearbox also found the same he tried inwards first and ended up swithcing and she now runs much nicer.I can post a few videos of the electirc one if your interested.
Mart
ps the esc,s came with the extra caps,version 3 has them so if you buy any ask for version 3 those are the ones i sell and i cant keep up with demand lol.
Cheers mate, are you going to run struts or stingers on you twin build, I though about stingers but think because the mounting bracket is so low on the transom ,you will have to mount the stinger higher to keep the end of the bracket from sticking out the bottom edge of the transom ( if that makes sense ). At least with the strut the bracket is out of the way and you can mount the flex shaft holder lower without worrying about overhang.

Hp88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:30 PM
  #11
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Hi i think ill be using stingers,the type i have the bracket is vee shaped at the bottom so even in a twin setup you can get them pretty low.
Mart
heres a cpl of vids of Pates twin using struts and as yet plastic props.When he built her his aim was a cheap scale running boat arround 30 mph well as you can see he over achieved as speeds well into the 40s and i think top speed was about 50-52 mph.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uW7YEZQ_7JY&feature=plcp[/youtube] [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cb9cX4_kw0&feature=plcp[/youtube]
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:55 PM
  #12
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

What do you think about this setup: 10S per motor, 800kV motors 5000 Watts?
Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:24 AM
  #13
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rebel bay

What do you think about this setup: 10S per motor, 800kV motors 5000 Watts?
Well i think its overkill,Pate started out with t600 880 kv outrunners on 6 s and was getting close to the same speeds (50mph)as with the himodel 910 kv motors in a much larger boat than yours so to me 10 s with twins is too much,a single fine.This is just my opinion but im no expert.
Mart
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:22 PM
  #14
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Yes, talking with friends the right twinsetup is 8S or 10Sfor each combo with 4092 motors 900kV/1000kV. A pair of 5682 is heavy : + 500 grammes...


Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:31 AM
  #15
tbaysal2000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Izmir, TURKEY
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rebel bay

Hello guys,
What kind of setup do you suggest for a 50'' / 127cm deep vee? One motor or may be a twin,
Personally I prefer the rwin version, 8S, 10S? Thank you for your help [img][/img]

Very nice hull. I wonder the capabilities of your size especially on rougher waters. I have the 35" version of this. Can you show more photos (inside, transom) please?
tbaysal2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:29 AM
  #16
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Ok I' ll take more pictures for you.

I like the FOUNTAINP1 so I bought a hull + hatch and will run this boatwith a twin setup, two outrunners FMT3650 1700kV, 2 LiPo 5S 3500mAh to 4000mAh batteries and 2 Seaking 120A.






Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:15 AM
  #17
tbaysal2000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Izmir, TURKEY
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Did you change the color? Original hull is Blue with Red stripes. See my post if you like.

And can I see the inside of the hull and a close up on the transom please.

I noticed you downtuned your power aspirations from 2 x 8S to 2 x 4S with a different spec motor. Why did you change it? Performance/cost balance?

You also have only 1 water intake on the rudder. Don't you need 2?
tbaysal2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:26 AM
  #18
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

The white one is a Venom P1 KOS 32" and light blue one is 50" . I had oportunity to buy a Venom P1bare hull for a good price. It' s fun to build a twin , all components are low cost.
PS : Where is your post?
Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:22 AM
  #19
tbaysal2000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Izmir, TURKEY
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Here are my posts. One of them has the actual P1 on the waters:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11316185/tm.htm

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11318908/tm.htm

- So as you have now 2 of them, what is the center of gravity suggested for the Venom (as percentage from transom?)?
- Can you show the inside of both hulls when you have time please.
- Isn't it better to have on pipe at the very center as low as possible for the Deep Vee instead of now having 2 props at higher level. Also this will cause more weight on the sides as you will now have the engines a bit higher and on the sides. This could cause a bit more tendency to roll in my view but I'm not an expert. Just that the lower and the more closer to center, the better COG which directs better handling. You can always use one very strong engine and batteries placed at center and organize the COG as the hull producer would suggest.

I also remember from Gas boats that the more power you have, the closer the COG. So if your suggested rate is 32% from transom for a standard power set up, then 30% can be something to consider. On an electric boat it is easier to do by moving the batteries back or front if you left enough room to play with.
tbaysal2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:31 PM
  #20
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Some parts for the Venom P1 KOS

Twin motors mount is made with 2 single.Motors are FMT 3650 - 1700kV







I like the rudder, this is a TFLHobby with a long bracket made of 3 carbon plates



Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:44 AM
  #21
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

I order two motors for the 50"Fountain P1 , 2 x 4092 - 3Y - 930kV, 10S on each combo, 34400 RPM unload



And you know what ???

Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 04:58 PM
  #22
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Technical drawing for the setupconfiguration


Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 05:40 PM
  #23
manoseao
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

twins are always cool but not needed for good results. 
manoseao is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 06:41 PM
  #24
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

That' s right but I am addict
The boat leaves straight right like a rocket with a very nice noise...That is why a twin setup isso cool


Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 05:54 AM
  #25
Rebel bay
Thread Starter
 
Rebel bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boulogne-Billancourt, FRANCE
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50

Hello guys! The FOUNTAIN P1 is nice IMHO,

The hull need red stripes and numbers 99, what do you think?


Rebel bay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:11 PM.