Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

prop shaft help

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

prop shaft help

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2013, 08:03 AM
tomrandall

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default prop shaft help

so im new to making rc boats and need to know how a prop shaft would connect up to the motor. ive been looking around and i dont understand how the two would connect up

[EDIT] after some thought i have considered making the prop shaft out of a wooden dowel. i could just drill a hole in one end to fit the motor and then use some kind of waterproof glue to glue a propeller to the other end. can anyone think of problems this may have? i have thought about the vibration upon the propeller and shaft connection but i think a poxy glue would hold.
Old 06-18-2013, 09:49 AM
785boats

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: prop shaft help

Tom.
Since you are in England, 'Astec Models' is probably a good place to start. They have many couplers for motor/shaft connection. For both flex shafts & solid shafts & in many varying sizes.
All you need to know is the motor shaft size & the propshaft size. There will be a coupler to fit.
Wooden dowel would more than likely snap within a few seconds & is not recommended.
Here's the couplers.
[link]https://astecmodels.co.uk/catalog/index.php?cPath=1_43&osCsid=b262caf5ac80633865c87499af8d3b52[/link]

And here's three pages of drive shafts.
[link]https://astecmodels.co.uk/catalog/index.php?cPath=1_90&osCsid=b262caf5ac80633865c87499af8d3b52[/link]

Something there should suit your needs

Paul.
Old 06-18-2013, 10:26 AM
tomrandall

another problem i have is a low budget which is another reason im swaying towards wooden dowels. i was thinking if i used a walnut dowel, 14mm thickness it would be ok as i would only be making a short shaft no more than 50mm.
Old 06-18-2013, 11:37 AM
niteshadow