Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Formula Fastech Nitro to Brushless conversion

Reply
Old 07-08-2013, 12:25 PM
  #1
bigcam406
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: oshawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 444
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Formula Fastech Nitro to Brushless conversion

I have 2 fastech nitros,want to convert one of them to brushless.i was thinking of using the motor and esc out of the Shockwave26 v3 bl,to keep it simple.i don't want a speed demon,just for pleasure,as im sure it will be quick enough with the 1500kv motor.my question is,i have never done this before,so im new at this sort of thing.just wondering how I would hook up the esc to the existing radio.do I have to remove anything? anybody have any experience in conversions? any help would be appreciated.thanks
bigcam406 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 02:45 PM
  #2
bigcam406
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: oshawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 444
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Formula Fastech Nitro to Brushless conversion

anyone?
bigcam406 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 04:41 PM
  #3
captain bill
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: front royal, VA
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Formula Fastech Nitro to Brushless conversion

Love the fastech, fun little boat. Sounds like a fun project, I think the hardest part might be fabricating the motor mount. Make sure the motor is compatible with the drive line, flex cable? Re rout the water plumbing for the esc. Remove the throttle servo from the receiver and plug in the esc, pay attention to polarity.  Might be a good time to upgrade from the original radio and receiver if you haven't already. Might have to experiment with battery location and prop for the proper ride. I'm sure I have left out some important details, maybe a more experienced boat builder will chime in. Good luck.
captain bill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 06:19 PM
  #4
bigcam406
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: oshawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 444
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Formula Fastech Nitro to Brushless conversion

thanks for the reply.your right about the mount,im going to be using the motor and esc of off of the Impulse.im pretty sure the mount off the brushless Fastech will work,just have to do some checking.
bigcam406 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 AM.