Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

? faulty speed controller

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

? faulty speed controller

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2013, 11:46 AM
tonygoole1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ? faulty speed controller

Hi all I am fairly new to boats. I just bought a 2nd hand DRAGON MINI CAT 860EP 70A BOAT.

The problem I have is after running the boat for a couple of minutes at full speed which is quite fast, it slows down to a very slow speed at full throttle.

I am using 11.1v 3300mah batteries, when I take the boat out of the water and put my battery checker on I am at about 70% charge.

All I can think is its maybe a speed controller issue. When I connect the batteries one controller beeps loud and the other beeps very quiet.

Any ideas ?
Old 12-22-2013, 10:52 AM
siberianhusky

Batteries can't supply the current and it's going into LVC (Low voltage cut) mode.
With an esc it's pretty much a working or not working proposition.
What brand and C rating of batteries and how are you connecting them? There are batteries then there are batteries, many of the cheap off brand packs can't deliver the amperage they claim.
What are the temperatures of the motor, esc and batteries when it slows down like that?
Some pictures of the hardware on the back including props would be helpful, may just be a poor setup causing the motor to load up too much, causing it to draw too much current, this usually results in a lot of heat though.
Oh ya it's actually the motor doing the beeping not the esc, I know! Sounds crazy but that's how it works. Not 100% sure how.

Last edited by siberianhusky; 12-22-2013 at 10:54 AM.
Old 12-22-2013, 11:09 AM
tonygoole1

Hi Siberian,

I have Alaskan Malamutes ;-)

thanks for your reply the boat is currently factory set everything original. The batteries are GensAce 25C.