Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Proboat Blackjack 29 V3 Setup Thoughts/Questions?

Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Proboat Blackjack 29 V3 Setup Thoughts/Questions?

Old 05-05-2015, 06:57 PM
DieHarder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Proboat Blackjack 29 V3 Setup Thoughts/Questions?

Hey guys,
I've been doing RC for about 8 years and I'm looking at purchasing my first catamaran. I've pretty much decided on the Blackjack 29 V3. I did a lot of research and have read many threads on this boat. It'll be running on a pretty decent sized lake (about 1/2mi x 1.5mi) and I really want to run 6S. The V3 is has the 120A ESC which is better than the previous V2's 80A, but I've heard from quite a few people that 6S really should have a 180A (hobbywing) ESC. I know the motor isn't the greatest either. I don't have unlimited $$$ to buy the boat and all new electronics AND batteries all at the same time. I'd like to stick with the stock electronics for the year, but I want it to be reliable on 6S. It sounds like either the Octura X440 or X442 props work the best. I don't want to overload the ESC, so I'm thinking the safer route would be the x440. Is this correct thinking?

As for batteries, I was considering the Venom 3S 5000mah 50Cs, but they come in three types. Regular, hardcase, and water-cooled. I don't want the hardcase, but the water-cooled sounds interesting. Is there a drawback to doing the water-cooled, other than the fact they don't remove while charging? Does it affect the water-cooling system's performance? They're the same price as the regulars.