Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Upgrading Hobbyking Relentless V2

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Upgrading Hobbyking Relentless V2

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2017, 12:28 PM
HeineDenmark

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrading Hobbyking Relentless V2

Hi.
Im pretty new at rc boats and the brushless setup. So im hoping for a little help. A month ago i bought the Relentless V2 boat from Hobby King. I guess it was an okay good boat and all. But i wanted more speed. The stock version runs 2x2cell lipos, 60amp esc and a 1900kv outrummer motor.
I wrote the guys at HK asking for advice to upgrade the boat to 2x3cell lipos. Thay suggested to buy the 90amp esc and let everything else run stock. Well that went pretty wrong and the boat blew up in the middle of the pond in under a minute. I got in contact with HK again a straigt away they shipped me a new boat and esc. (Good Service)

So here's my question again.. I have now bought a 120amp Marine esc from HK instead of the 90amp esc. Will that work???

i heard the 90amp esc can't handle 6cells even thugh it says so on the specs. So thats why i bought the bigger one.
sorry for my bad english :-)

HeineDenmark
Old 09-14-2017, 05:12 AM
cablecar

It depends on your Motor KV, Higher KV normally draw higher Amp and require Bigger ESC. You can refer to Most Brushless Motor Technical Spec. and see the Max. Amp correspond to KV. If your motor now is 1900kV should be handle 4S means 2x2cell in series got 15.6V (Max 16.8V in Full Charged). and Running in 1900x16.8 Max 31920rpm.
If you try 2x3cell in series Max. got 25.2V and running in 47880rpm. If your motor power is small (I don't know your motor power KW), it will draw out High Amp and Overheat. so you better refer to your Motor Technical Spec. and see can it handle or not, then you can choose a Right ESC to fit for it.