Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

3s vs. 6s setup? Jollymotor upgrade..

Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

3s vs. 6s setup? Jollymotor upgrade..

Old 02-18-2010, 12:02 PM
Pekka L

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3s vs. 6s setup? Jollymotor upgrade..

I'm planning to upgrade my JollyMotor boat with a 2856 or 2868 sized brushless inrunner motor. Original setup is 2836 sized outrunner with 2185kV. Runs with 3s batteries like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWoKQ...=http%3A%2F%2F 40x1.2 Graupner prop.

What is the main difference if I use 3s or 6s setup?
As a electric engineer I understand the relations between voltage, current and power, but is there some other thing to keep in mind?

So why people still use 2-3s setups if you can get the same power with 6s/22,2V setup with less current and smalller ESCs?
Or am I missing something?

So should I get a motor with 3000kV or 1500kV if I aim to the ~30krpm range?
I have few 3s lipos, so should I use them parallel or in series? My Seaking 60A ESC should handle both.

Br.
Pekka from the land of snow and ice (at the moment..).
Old 02-18-2010, 12:11 PM
srt10
My Feedback: (20)

Default RE: 3s vs. 6s setup? Jollymotor upgrade..

correct!
you are on the right path, going 6s with 1/2 the kv of the stock motor you will longer runtimes and a cooler running system.
but if you run 6s on the stock motor, that would be to much rpm and cause lots of heat and damage
Old 02-18-2010, 12:19 PM
srt10

so lower kv motors of the same size can, pull less amps
lets say
2200kv motors on 3s pulls 35amps that = 389 watts
1100kv motor on 6s pulls 18amps that = 400watts
not exact but it gives an idea.
longer runtimes with lower kv motors on higher volts, and also cooler running gear
Old 02-18-2010, 12:35 PM
Pekka L

ORIGINAL: srt10
longer runtimes with lower kv motors on higher volts, and also cooler running gear