Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

what do FETS do on an ESC

Reply
Old 03-12-2010, 01:07 PM
  #1
nick 30
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default what do FETS do on an ESC

could people please tell me what FETS on an ESCdo please ???

could i remove a FET board of one esc and put it on the same make and model ESC, i ask because i knakered a turnigy 120a speedo (somehow, the motor just spins to full chat) and want to use as much of the parts as i can so i'm thinking about putting the FET board on my working esc (plus another cooling plate)

many thanks
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 01:52 PM
  #2
stmjxxi
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

If your esc is brushless then it is not the fets at fault.
Trust me on that.
stmjxxi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 01:54 PM
  #3
nick 30
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

yeah it's a BL esc, so what do you think the problem could be then ??

i've checked all the ESC settings with my program card and there all factory set, i did'nt change any of them
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 01:58 PM
  #4
nick 30
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

ihave tried different motors, different batts even tested everything on my other esc, everything works properly and its not the settings on the transmitter either, it's down to the esc only
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 02:47 PM
  #5
stmjxxi
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

A processor in brushless esc switches the six groups of fets in an ordered sequence to turn the motor.
It must still be doing that.
stmjxxi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 02:50 PM
  #6
nick 30
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

a bit like HT leads in a car ??

what can i do about it ??

thanks for your replys
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 03:18 PM
  #7
stmjxxi
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

To save on heatshrink,I would first double and triple check it is not something you overlooked.

Satisfied on the above,If you had access to a voltage scope (or a digital meter at a push) and posted high def pictures of both sides of the boards then an engineer might direct you.

I think you should give it to an engineer to look at.
stmjxxi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 03:23 PM
  #8
nick 30
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

ok mate, i'll give that a go and see what he says
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 03:43 PM
  #9
stmjxxi
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

I didn't actually mean return to base.Just a friend or contact.

If anything,it is usually an esc fet that would blow.Someone conversant with esc automatically check things you might not think of.Stuff like is it actually in idling/half power mode due to low battery?
There is the off chance they would fix any non-FET fault

Maybe there is an esc forum.
stmjxxi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 03:47 PM
  #10
nick 30
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

the fets look fine to me, i have had a look at the esc and cant see any visible eveidence of anything gone wrong, it was a spare i used for testing bench setups anyway, so i might aswell chuck but see what i can salvage of it before i do
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 08:46 AM
  #11
savagecommander
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: sterling heights, MI
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

if your fets were the issue youd have little or no power, if it worked at all. whatever your problem is, its tellin gthe fets to switch at WOT- sounds like a processor issue to me.
savagecommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:32 PM.