Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    what do FETS do on an ESC

    could people please tell me what FETS on an ESCdo please ???

    could i remove a FET board of one esc and put it on the same make and model ESC, i ask because i knakered a turnigy 120a speedo (somehow, the motor just spins to full chat) and want to use as much of the parts as i can so i'm thinking about putting the FET board on my working esc (plus another cooling plate)

    many thanks
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    43
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    If your esc is brushless then it is not the fets at fault.
    Trust me on that.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    yeah it's a BL esc, so what do you think the problem could be then ??

    i've checked all the ESC settings with my program card and there all factory set, i did'nt change any of them
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    ihave tried different motors, different batts even tested everything on my other esc, everything works properly and its not the settings on the transmitter either, it's down to the esc only
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    43
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    A processor in brushless esc switches the six groups of fets in an ordered sequence to turn the motor.
    It must still be doing that.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    a bit like HT leads in a car ??

    what can i do about it ??

    thanks for your replys
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    43
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    To save on heatshrink,I would first double and triple check it is not something you overlooked.

    Satisfied on the above,If you had access to a voltage scope (or a digital meter at a push) and posted high def pictures of both sides of the boards then an engineer might direct you.

    I think you should give it to an engineer to look at.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    ok mate, i'll give that a go and see what he says
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    43
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    I didn't actually mean return to base.Just a friend or contact.

    If anything,it is usually an esc fet that would blow.Someone conversant with esc automatically check things you might not think of.Stuff like is it actually in idling/half power mode due to low battery?
    There is the off chance they would fix any non-FET fault

    Maybe there is an esc forum.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    the fets look fine to me, i have had a look at the esc and cant see any visible eveidence of anything gone wrong, it was a spare i used for testing bench setups anyway, so i might aswell chuck but see what i can salvage of it before i do
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    sterling heights, MI
    Posts
    1,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: what do FETS do on an ESC

    if your fets were the issue youd have little or no power, if it worked at all. whatever your problem is, its tellin gthe fets to switch at WOT- sounds like a processor issue to me.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.