Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Illawarra, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    327
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    adding caps to esc

    Hi Guys,

    I have to castle HV 120 amp esc and ive been told to add extra caps to the esc.
    The caps that have been given to me are 4x 3300uF 50v. I will be adding 2 to each esc.
    On the caps there is a long pin and a short pin, which pin should be soldered to the positve side?
    Im running 10s on each esc.
    The esc have been running fine without the extra caps but ive been told to add them as it will help the esc.
    What do you think.
    Cheers Peter


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc

    the negative side should be marked with some sort of arrow or rectangle, i beleive its the longer terminal wire thats the negative

    solder both negative's together and then both positives and have them facing away from eachother

    you can solder these dirictly to the battery leads on the esc by cutting 5mm of the casing of, wra the terminals around the wire, solder and trim excess of, once done, insulate with electrical tape or referably heat shrink

     
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  3. #3
    SV27dayton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Centerville, OH
    Posts
    2,302
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc

    Nick,
    Can you explain why this is a good thing? I assuem it reduces V spikes that can take out the ESC during a surge.
    \\\\\\\\\\ Go fly a boat /////

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc

    as you know, a capacitor is just basicaly a storage pot, it will store power until needed, yes its for spikes like if you take of suddenly, it also aids in keeping the esc and batts from wrecking so it does help, i put 1 or 2 extra caps on all my speedo's, i have notoced a diffrence, the main one being easier on everything, better response for the throttle etc, once you know how to do it it's esay to do the next ones

    one of my speedo's caps are rated at 50v, 400uF but i put 63v, 400uF onto it, stores more charge but more of smaller ones (50v, 300uF) can be better than one big cap

    in the long run, that extra power needed will reduce wear and tear on the system
    amps give power, more amps, more power :-)

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Jefferson City, MO
    Posts
    146
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc

    Positive is the longer lead.

  6. #6
    Cornelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    114
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc

    All electrolytic capacitors have either a band with a big "-" marked on the negative side or a spot of color, again on the negative side. I had some caps with wires ready for pcb side mount that had equal wires... but the negative wire is always marked.

  7. #7
    norbique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Europe, HUNGARY
    Posts
    387
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc


    ORIGINAL: wetsleeves

    Hi Guys,

    I have to castle HV 120 amp esc and ive been told to add extra caps to the esc.
    The caps that have been given to me are 4x 3300uF 50v. I will be adding 2 to each esc.
    On the caps there is a long pin and a short pin, which pin should be soldered to the positve side?
    Im running 10s on each esc.
    The esc have been running fine without the extra caps but ive been told to add them as it will help the esc.
    What do you think.
    Cheers Peter

    A 10S setup will torture the 50V caps, you need to go up at least to the next standard, 63V.
    The 10S setup fresh charged can give you 4.2*10=42V, but when the ESC is in use there can be voltage spikes way exceeding 42V. I'd go for even higher voltage rated caps if I were you, maybe to 100V.
    For the lithium cat plans visit: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/i3zono9mxmuqv5c/pH3bpspsAc
    Dropbox link: http://db.tt/qZEFcjGa

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Illawarra, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    327
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc

    OK, i will see if I can get bigger caps this week. How many extra caps should I put on each esc?
    Would 2 per esc be enough?
    Thanks Peter

  9. #9
    norbique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Europe, HUNGARY
    Posts
    387
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: adding caps to esc

    The number of capacitors you add depends on the capacity of the capacitors. I used 5 pieces of 1000uF caps = 5000uF, which is already a big help to the ESC. You can go higher if you want, it won't hurt, but the more capacity you want, the bulkier things will become. You decide.
    For the lithium cat plans visit: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/i3zono9mxmuqv5c/pH3bpspsAc
    Dropbox link: http://db.tt/qZEFcjGa


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.