Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

adding caps to esc

Reply
Old 05-14-2010, 05:29 AM
  #1
wetsleeves
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illawarra, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default adding caps to esc

Hi Guys,

I have to castle HV 120 amp esc and ive been told to add extra caps to the esc.
The caps that have been given to me are 4x 3300uF 50v. I will be adding 2 to each esc.
On the caps there is a long pin and a short pin, which pin should be soldered to the positve side?
Im running 10s on each esc.
The esc have been running fine without the extra caps but ive been told to add them as it will help the esc.
What do you think.
Cheers Peter

wetsleeves is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 06:06 AM
  #2
nick 30
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc

the negative side should be marked with some sort of arrow or rectangle, i beleive its the longer terminal wire thats the negative

solder both negative's together and then both positives and have them facing away from eachother

you can solder these dirictly to the battery leads on the esc by cutting 5mm of the casing of, wra the terminals around the wire, solder and trim excess of, once done, insulate with electrical tape or referably heat shrink

 
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:24 PM
  #3
SV27dayton
 
SV27dayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Centerville, OH
Posts: 2,302
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc

Nick,
Can you explain why this is a good thing? I assuem it reduces V spikes that can take out the ESC during a surge.
SV27dayton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 01:37 PM
  #4
nick 30
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: clevedonsomerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc

as you know, a capacitor is just basicaly a storage pot, it will store power until needed, yes its for spikes like if you take of suddenly, it also aids in keeping the esc and batts from wrecking so it does help, i put 1 or 2 extra caps on all my speedo's, i have notoced a diffrence, the main one being easier on everything, better response for the throttle etc, once you know how to do it it's esay to do the next ones

one of my speedo's caps are rated at 50v, 400uF but i put 63v, 400uF onto it, stores more charge but more of smaller ones (50v, 300uF) can be better than one big cap

in the long run, that extra power needed will reduce wear and tear on the system
nick 30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:59 PM
  #5
Jeff Wohlt
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc

Positive is the longer lead.
Jeff Wohlt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:41 AM
  #6
Cornelp
 
Cornelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bucharest, ROMANIA
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc

All electrolytic capacitors have either a band with a big "-" marked on the negative side or a spot of color, again on the negative side. I had some caps with wires ready for pcb side mount that had equal wires... but the negative wire is always marked.
Cornelp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 02:23 AM
  #7
norbique
 
norbique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Europe, HUNGARY
Posts: 388
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc


Quote:
ORIGINAL: wetsleeves

Hi Guys,

I have to castle HV 120 amp esc and ive been told to add extra caps to the esc.
The caps that have been given to me are 4x 3300uF 50v. I will be adding 2 to each esc.
On the caps there is a long pin and a short pin, which pin should be soldered to the positve side?
Im running 10s on each esc.
The esc have been running fine without the extra caps but ive been told to add them as it will help the esc.
What do you think.
Cheers Peter

A 10S setup will torture the 50V caps, you need to go up at least to the next standard, 63V.
The 10S setup fresh charged can give you 4.2*10=42V, but when the ESC is in use there can be voltage spikes way exceeding 42V. I'd go for even higher voltage rated caps if I were you, maybe to 100V.
norbique is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 04:42 AM
  #8
wetsleeves
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illawarra, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc

OK, i will see if I can get bigger caps this week. How many extra caps should I put on each esc?
Would 2 per esc be enough?
Thanks Peter
wetsleeves is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 06:15 AM
  #9
norbique
 
norbique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Europe, HUNGARY
Posts: 388
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: adding caps to esc

The number of capacitors you add depends on the capacity of the capacitors. I used 5 pieces of 1000uF caps = 5000uF, which is already a big help to the ESC. You can go higher if you want, it won't hurt, but the more capacity you want, the bulkier things will become. You decide.
norbique is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:20 PM.